Remembering Winter (8 Images). For Monomad Challenge

DSC_2913.JPG

Autumn is in full swing in St. Petersburg and I can't help thinking that five months of darkness and slush are ahead. The best season for longing and writing depressive texts, not for photo walks.

Below, there are images from my archive for the #monomad challenge.

DSC_6449.JPG

5 a.m., I was walking to the city center, several kilometers away from my place.

Empty streets, everybody was sleeping except nocturnal creatures like me.

DSC_6455.JPG

A gloomy dwarf-like Vladimir Lenin guarded an entrance of Pokrovskaya Hospital.

DSC_6474.JPG

The snowfall intensified, snowflakes were covering the camera and the lens making them wet.

DSC_6490.JPG

It was not a Saharan sandstorm, it was Baltic snow slapping the face of the old Egyptian.

A 3500-years-old sphinx, brought from Egypt in 1832, in that fridge, can you imagine?

DSC_6477.JPG

The weather was a disaster.

DSC_6495-2.JPG

Nevertheless, I decided to cross the bridge to see a certain place, an alley leading to St. Isaac Cathedral.

DSC_6500-5.JPG

The snowfall suddenly slowed down and I found this pleasant calmness in the alley.

More passersby were appearing hurrying to their work, it was around 8 a.m. already. The time to go back home, get the feet dry, drink a cup of hot black tea and sleep. I hoped I would not get sick after that walk.


Verified by Hive Watchers | My portfolio on Alamy | Facebook | Twitter

These are my photos, taken with Nikon D750 + Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G in Saint Petersburg, Russia. This is not a cross-post, the images were never published on the Internet except a color version of the alley that was placed on Alamy and some microstocks.

Thank you for stopping by! 😎

Regards,
@x-rain

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency