September Is In The Air - A Monomad Challenge Entry

Greetings, fellow sentient beings!

This is me with another entry for the #monomad daily challenge that you can find in the Black And White photo community. It's been a long time since last I've joined. It's been a long time since last I've taken the camera for outings so long...meaning more than an hour at a time with nothing else to work on meanwhile...It's been a long time. I don't remember how long, and I don't want to go checking out in the past.

Summer's almost gone. Here, upon the Via Pontica, the bird migration route along the Black Sea coast, we measure seasons by the coming and going of two most iconic kinds. Storks and swallows.

Come fall, they start grouping in large host and they depart for...The Warm Countries™ as we call them. The Nile and its surroundings, I guess Egypt mostly.

Anyway. It's time for us to part and it's a time of sweet sadness and awe.

I was lucky to find both kinds in one frame. I went out for some rocks and waves at sunrise, and on my way back, I tramped some familiar streets for a while. I stumbled upon the wires which served as temporary swallow-kin headquarters. Then, in a moment, the tornado of storks appeared in the background. I quickly switched focus to them.

Then I turned to things near me for perhaps less than a minute. It felt like a few seconds had gone by when...

The storks were gone.

They were gone so bad, I wondered for a moment if I had dreamt about them being there in the first place. But the photo was there.

So...

They must have been there in reality, no?


StorksAndSwallowsSmall.jpg


Cheers!

And May September be nice to you!

Yours,

Manol

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency