He Came, He Saw & He Conquered | My entry for Monomad Contest

It's been a while since I've posted a dog blog, hasn't it?

Today while looking in the folders with photos I made this year I came across this photo. Skipper in the snow. And with a shock, it dawned on me that we already closed this handsome boy in our hearts almost 2 years ago. And when I realized that, the disbelief also came ... Skipper is almost 3 years old already!

Where has the time gone?

I remember so well when he came to us. February 2020. My grief for the loss of Rowan was still fresh, but my heart melted when I saw Skipper's face on the internet. He reminded me of Rowan in a way, and I knew…that's my dog!

Luckily my partner agreed with me. And he was the first to look for a dog, preferably a German Shepherd.

Stormy acquaintance

On a stormy Sunday in February, a little more than a year and a half ago, Skiooer came to us. And he came, he saw and he conquered! He completely wrapped us both up and stole our hearts. He no longer had to go back to the busy city life that did not suit him at all, and a new adventure began.

Befriend Myla and Lana. Which caused quite a few problems, but eventually worked. Skipper worked very hard to understand those two moody ladies, and to adapt to the ladies. Fortunately not without success. The ladies thawed and accepted the new gentleman into their pack. We had another threesome!

For my partner and me, it was also adjusting and getting used to. Because while Skipper is indeed like Rowan in some things, in others he is completely different. It never crossed Rowan his mind to bark at the TV, Skipper loves nothing more. He is very lovingly watching the TV, but if he doesn't like it he lets it be heard loudly. That takes some getting used to, and not so desirable... Some work needs to be done here. Lol.

I thought I was used to a lot when walking with Rowan. He too had the necessary pranks in his younger years. Which has ensured that I am well trained to intervene before it goes too far. But I notice that with Skipper I have to be much more on top of things. On top of that, Skipper apparently missed a bit of socialization in his puppyhood. When I look at how quickly he is startled, and the things that startle him, I can say, "he has missed a lot in his imprinting phase".

Too bad, because those are things you can never do over again. And those are also things that are important for the rest of his life. Unfortunately, not all breeders realize what they are getting into and the responsibility you have as a breeder when you have a litter. The result is often dogs that are somewhat socially disturbed. And that is now also noticeable with Skipper.

What then?

In fact, not much different from what I normally would. Continue to train and give positive training. Reward a lot for what he does well, and ignore negative behavior if possible, and if there really is no other option, correct it. But better prevention of bad behavior by turning it into good behavior in time. Which means I spend a lot of time with him. And sometimes I feel a little guilty about that because Myla and Lana also want attention, and they deserve attention.

Playtime outside

Nevertheless, we also have our playtime outside with all the dogs together every day. And that's just enjoying. Seeing those happy snouts, they don't have to do anything for a while ... can do what they want. And get all the attention they want.

Luckily for all the dogs, that's always possible. The backyard is big enough, they can play, and we don't have to pay attention to anything. They can bark, run, play, jump, or just quietly play with a twig or ball. The choice is theirs. Then there is no training, no need to pay attention, no correction when they bark, no tense moments for Skipper when he has to pass a car, cyclist, walker or other dog. Just being in the backyard with Myla and Lana...knowing I'm around and there for them in that moment.

Those are the moments we all look forward to every day. Moments of joy, and nothing to do. Enjoying what's there...

All three dogs know we love them.

And I know the dogs love us...

After the loss of Rowan, I never thought I'd find a new dog love so soon. But sometimes the universe throws something in your path that you can't refuse. And now look...

Next month Skipper will be 3 years old, in February he will be two years with us.

I hope to enjoy this handsome face for many more years to come

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency