Another one bites the dust

dendrobium bigibbum var compactum bw 5.jpg

This was a lovely, lovely Dendobium orchid that I had for a few years
Was.
Because it is no more.

And there is even a little story here which I will bore you with for a few minutes.
Many, many years ago my mum got some orchid that was about to end up in a bin. She took it home and watered once in a while.
And the orchid was so happy that it grew... and grew... multiple canes, multiple flowers and a bunch or little keikies (it's the orchid babies).

dendrobium bigibbum var compactum bw 6.jpgdendrobium bigibbum var compactum bw 7.jpg

I took one of those kaikies home with me, since they they were big enough to get own pots. My one also grew nicely and bloomed a few times as you can see. Lovely white flowers with intense dark purple center.
It looked happy.
For a while.

dendrobium bigibbum var compactum bw 1.jpg

dendrobium bigibbum var compactum bw 3.jpg

dendrobium bigibbum var compactum bw 8.jpg

And then I have no idea what happened but every new cane was growing smaller and smaller. That is a clear sign that orchid is sick or grows in the wrong conditions. The thing is, that I didn't change anything. And so a healthy big bush turned was gone within two years.

What a shame...

dendrobium bigibbum var compactum bw .jpg

By the way. My mum still has hers :)

dendrobium bigibbum var compactum bw 4.jpg


Bonus song :)
Queen - Another One Bites The Dust
year 1980

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

Mono banner.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency