Monomad Challenge - Phil's Vet Visit

This is my entry for the #monomad challenge by @monochromes! You can read more about the contest and how to enter HERE!

I took many of the following photos when I took my guinea pig, Phil, to the Chadwell Animal Hospital located at 3004 Emmorton Rd in Harford County, Maryland. My first photo and entry though was taken at my home as well as the last couple of photos.

monomad8-30-21-1ok1.jpg

I took Phil to the vet to mainly get his nails trimmed. Phil bites which is rare for a guinea pig to do and he hates is nails trimmed so I thought it best to take him in and have them trimmed professionally. I also had some concerns as he would occasionally sneeze and although I thought it came from dust in his food and bedding I figured they could make sure he wasn't having any respiratory issues. I had already started sifting his food pellets to cut back on the dust and it did seem to help but since he would be there anyway I wanted to make sure his lungs were okay. We arrived at Chadwell's for Phil to see Doctor Gold. We checked in from the vehicle that we had arrived and were met at the door by a technician when they were ready for us to come in.

monomad8-30-21-2ok1.jpg

The hospital lobby was spacious and very clean and I probably spent the most time in the lobby while checking out and making my payment although it wasn't long a wait at all.

monomad8-30-21-3ok1.jpg

As soon as we were ushered in we went to an examination room. The room was a good size and again very clean. I also snuck a photo of Phil while he was waiting in his carrier.

monomad8-30-21-4ok1.jpg

monomad8-30-21-5ok1.jpg

monomad8-30-21-6ok1.jpg

monomad8-30-21-7ok1.jpg

When the technician came in I explained why Phil was there and my concerns. She reached into the carrier to take Phil out and, naturally, he didn't try to bite at all ... lol. Isn't that always the way?! I was very happy that she took Phil into a different room without me to trim his nails. When she brought him back she said "well, he didn't like it but we got them trimmed". A few minute later the doctor came in and checked him over. He told me his lungs were clear and that was a relief. He also gave me some drops to put behind his ears for a kind of lice that is specific to guinea pigs. He thought possibly he could have them and that could contribute to his biting because he was itchy. I've had guinea pigs before so I was familiar with the condition. We gave Phil two doses a month apart. He still bites! Oh well! I snuck this photo of Phil back inside his carrier before we left the office.

monomad8-30-21-8ok1.jpg

This is another shot of the lobby that I took while waiting to get the drops and make payment.

monomad8-30-21-9ok1.jpg

The photos that I took of Phil after he got home was to try to show off his now very nicely trimmed nails. I know both he and I are happy we got that taken care of!

monomad8-30-21-10ok1.jpg

I don't know but Phil does seem a little more relaxed now so maybe getting his nails trimmed and applying those drops have made him a bit more relaxed. He looks so cute when he flattens out and lays down or maybe he is just tired of me taking pictures of him! 💖

monomad8-30-21-11ok1.jpg

Thank you @brumest, @ewkaw and @monochromes for #monomad!!
All photos and text by me @deerjay. All rights reserved.

TEAMUSA-hive_footer_blue_deerjay.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency