Monomad Challenge - In Mom's Yard

This is my entry for the #monomad challenge by @monochromes! You can read more about the contest and how to enter HERE!

I took the following photos while visiting my Mom's house at the end of May and early June. This is where I grew up and it's the yard that I got to play in as a child. My mom passed away in 2017 but the house is still known to me and my siblings as Mom and Dad's House and Mom's Yard! My first photo is my entry ...

monomad8-1-2021-1ok.jpg

That first photo is of a old but newer bird bath that sits in a front garden. I noticed on an earlier visit that it had been moved and I wondered where it went so on this particular visit I found its new spot. I asked my sister why they moved it because I thought it looked nicer in the previous spot and she told me that it had gotten broken so they moved it. She pointed out where it had broken but with the plants growing up around it you really couldn't tell. That isn't the only bird bath in the yard. This is an older bird bath that sits in the back yard. I still remember when my mom bought that bird bath many years ago and how happy she was with it. I also noticed that there was no water in either of the bird baths. I told my sister that mom would want her to put some water in them for the birds and she said that she would but probably Mother Nature took care of that in the form of rain before she got around to it.

monomad8-1-2021-2ok.jpg

Here is the old garage which has seen better days! I have a lot of memories of playing in that old garage.

monomad8-1-2021-3ok.jpg

This is the driveway where I learned to ride a bicycle, skipped rope and played hopscotch with my sisters.

monomad8-1-2021-4ok.jpg

My Dad planted this Rhododendron when I was just a toddler. It produced such beautiful flowers and still does, just not as many as it used to be much bigger or maybe I was just much smaller and it seemed as such.

monomad8-1-2021-5ok.jpg

This photo gives a little clue to why my husband and I were visiting on this day and a couple of times within a short amount of time. Evidently, my sister killed another lawn mower and the new one she had delivered wasn't working. My husband was able to "fix" the new one eventually. There are Hosta's planted all around Mom's house. She was great with all plants. That is not something that I inherited from her but I have managed to keep some plants living including the Hosta's that Mom gave me almost twenty years ago.

monomad8-1-2021-6ok.jpg

I think this is the side of the yard that the last lawn mower gave out on as half of the grass is cut. I do like this view of down the street though. There used to be a big tree in front of most of the houses on this street but age and weather took the last one down about a year or two ago. Anyway, lots of memories growing up here. Things look different now but sometimes I can still see it as it was all those years ago. 💖

monomad8-1-2021-7ok.jpg

Thank you @brumest, @ewkaw and @monochromes for #monomad!!
All photos and text by me @deerjay. All rights reserved.

TEAMUSA-hive_footer_blue_deerjay.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency