house of mirrors

there was a hummingbird in my apartment
I left the window open
and went out
when I got home
he was there
DSC_8398.JPG
they cleared the foliage outside the window
he was lost
his world had changed overnight
which way was in?
which way was out?
had he even known what in meant before he casually hummed himself into the house of mirrors?

DSC_8446.JPG
I walked toward him
he hovered against the glass
trying to get out
certain this was the end
I spoke softly to him
reached out to him

in the dark red cavern of my cupped hands
he succumbed to his fate
his wings stopped
his heart raced
his tiny feet gripped my fingers

DSC_8395.JPG
I took him to the open window
opened my hands

so fast
as if he was never there
as if it had never happened
as if he had never happened

DSC_8453.JPG

if I leave the window open again
will you fly in?
let me save you?
and then vanish
like you never happened?

DSC_8399.JPG
Or will you stay?


This is my entry for the #monomad challenge, held daily in the Black and White Community.
Give it a try.
DSC_8387.JPG


instagram: @se_pdx_crows
Art in NFT Showroom
a percentage of this post's rewards goes back to support the community

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency