Shit Fire And Save Matches!

I quit! Not hive, or anything in particular for that matter, I just felt the need to express that sentiment. It's Derby weekend and if that don't put you in a hostile mood, you either don't live in Louisville or have entirely too much money. (See Hunter S. Thompson's The Kentucky Derby Is Decadent And Depraved for details)

derby_2020_4.jpg

I haven't been as active on here recently as I would like, for a variety of reasons. I aim to fix that directly, I have a plan! No plan survives contact so we'll see how that goes... Some of my recent posts have reinforced my suspicion that most people just look at the photos and maybe skim the writing, so I'm going to experiment with doing things a little differently. It was starting to feel like I was writing about 'heavy' shit most of the time and that just wears on a feller after a while, and can't be all that much more enjoyable to read.

derby_2020.jpg

Up til now every upvote I've handed out has been done manually but I'm thinking it may finally be time to change that. I spent too much time as a teenager making computers do things the adults didn't realize they could for me to not be suspicious of autovoters but I reckon I've had enough of a 'wait and see.' So, anybody got any warnings or recommendations for autovoters? I'm not worried about returns, I just want to be more consistent in supporting the peoples I like.

derby_2020_3.jpg

Photos are from last year's covid delayed Kentucky Derby, or at least from as close as you could get to it without getting arrested. They want the people in the funny hats' money too badly to risk scaring them off with snipers and Humvees with ACAV mounts, so it should be quite a bit different this year. The valets (for the horses, not the vehicles) are threatening to strike tomorrow so there may be a picket line. If there is it could be a little interesting and might actually be enough to get me to come within a mile of the drunken mess that is Churchill Downs.

derby_2020_2.jpg

Ever since I worked my first Derby (2006 I think) I've had a tradition that always puts me right for the events to come. For me it's not Derby until I've read the Hunter Thompson piece mentioned above and listened to the song below (it's kinda a cover but it's the damndest cover band I ever did see). If you have a spare minute during your Saturday, give it a try and let me know what you think or let me know if you have your own Derby tradition. (If you want to read more about or see more photos from last year's Derby check out this post).

Now get to fixin' those mint juleps!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency