Shapes, Lines, And Patterns

wash_mon_looking_up.jpg

Often when I'm out shooting there's a theme or idea I'm working on kinda guiding what I shoot. Usually I come across at least one or two things that grab my attention well enough that I snap a few photos even though they don't pertain in the least to whatever else I'm shooting.

fair_quilt_pattern_1.jpg

Those photos usually don't fit well into what I post on here so I end up with quite a few photos in the odds & sods department that mostly just sit around taking up space. These photos are all ones from that department that I took a liking to because of the shapes, lines, or patterns in them.

fair_bench_and_escalator.jpg

The first photo is the Washington Monument in DC, taken from the base of one corner looking up. The next two are from the Kentucky State Fair this year. In case you're wondering what that second photo is, it's a closeup of the pattern of a quit someone entered into the fair.

dc_reflections_1.jpg

The photo above is also from DC, as we were walking towards McPherson Square we passed a building with some interesting reflections of the building across the street and I had to get a shot. The photo below was taken from the second floor of the Speed Art Museum here in Louisville (you could do an entire post just on all the interesting lines and such in the museum).

speed_shadows_1.jpg

Anybody else ever go out to shoot something and come back with photos of something totally different/unexpected? What do you usually do with them?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency