Old Faithful Eruption Sequence & Friday Freewrite

Sleep was being elusive last night so I put on some music and started flipping through some old photos. Ended up listening to Blitzen Trapper, a band out of Oregon that makes some of my favorite adventuring music, one thing led to another and the next thing I know it's 1:30am and I'm editing photos.

old_faithful_bw_0.1.jpg

Let the teasing begin!

If it hadn't been for a 7 am alarm that wouldn't have been much of an issue. Needless to say I overslept this morning a bit. The music and photos had given me a touch of the wanderlust and it only got worse when I saw @scubahead's latest post on the narrowboat life.

old_faithful_bw_1.jpg

This looks promising

There's a march in Washington DC at the end of August that I want to go to, that may be a decent remedy for the wanderlust. LMPD hasn't been chucking tear gas and flashbangs at people recently so the city is doing its best to pretend last year didn't happen and revert to status quo ante bellum.

old_faithful_bw_2.jpg

Now we're cookin' with napalm!

Speaking of police and protests, what's going on in Nigeria? End SARS disappeared rather abruptly from the news and I haven't heard much since. Anybody in that neck of the woods or can direct me to someone who is? On another topic that'd I'd like to learn more about, does anybody know of anyone in or around the conflict in Tigray, Ethiopia?

old_faithful_bw_3.jpg

Blast off!

I spent five days camping in Yellowstone National Park a few years ago, managed to catch Old Faithful going off a few different times. Found out later that there was an earthquake swarm going on the whole time I was there, although I didn't notice a thing. Did y'all know that beneath the park is a supervolcano? Most of it is located in the caldera formed from the last supereruption and all that activity beneath the surface is what causes the geysers.

old_faithful_bw_4.jpg

Still going strong!

Does anybody know how to stop a groundhog from getting in your yard and eating everything aside from shooting it? I just chased one out of what was supposed to be a garden and most of the methods I'm familiar with to deal with them are frowned upon in the city.

old_faithful_bw_5.jpg

Winding down a bit

This post has gone on a good bit longer than the geyser did so I'm going to wrap things up. Yellowstone is the place to be if you love the smell of sulfur!

old_faithful_bw_6.jpg

Just about done

Almost through! Unlike this post, there'll be a new eruption in about an hour and a half. Damn groundhog is back, I'm going to scoot off here and yell profanities at him.

old_faithful_bw_7.jpg

Finished!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency