#monomad today : Betrothed (A young girl's peril)

#monomad today talks about the situation young girls faced as a result of the tradition of betrothing young girls from birth.

OMG!, no chance for love especially if the one you are betrothed to is a very powerful person.

Well, I do not know if that way of life still exists, maybe it does but not so frequent. I certainly would have to run away with the love of my life because I would not let someone take her from me.

She was birthed into it.

These photographs portrays the sadness of the young girl. First she is leaving home to people she does not know, because at times, so I have read in books they leave to their husband's house at about 8-10 years.

Some find love while others don't, whichever way it is a flawed tradition.

The costumes were the ones use in my previous post
except here the husband outfit is called "jalabia" and is cap is a "hula" and wrapper the young wife is wearing is called "zani".

All photos were captured in my canon Eos 5d (mark ii).

webIMG_5664.jpg

webIMG_5639.jpg

webIMG_5648.jpg

webIMG_5665.jpg

thanks for stopping by

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency