Nettle, Cleaver & Silverbeet Saag (or Tofu) Paneer

Adobe_Post_20210904_1738330.32114865760815536.png

One of my favourite things to eat in spring is a foraged saag paneer. Saag, as opposed to palak, which is spinach, is greens, and I love to make this Indian dish with any kind of greens I can forage from the garden, and from my walks. Nettles and cleavers are two of my favourite spring time greens, coming just when you need them the most, after a long winter - and often as hayfever season is starting up. Nettles are rich in nutrients and antioxidants. Cleavers too - and both are full of vitamin C, which is great for hayfever season. I also use any other greens I can find in the garden - broccoli leaves, kale, and silverbeet also go in the pot.

Nettle though... gosh I love it. It doesn't grow wild in Australia like it does in the UK, so I usually have to beg people for it, asking if anyone in the community has it in their garden. This week I had a huge bag turn up that I swapped for eggs. I'm always talking people into eating it, and I'm never sure that they do - I think they're totally mad not to! Nettle has been on my altar all week as I study it and think about what to do with it. I must get more so I can dry it and add it to soups for extra nutrition in winter.


image.png

To make saag paneer, I fry spice and a few huge tablespoons of fresh ginger in coconut oil. Think turmeric, garam masala, cummin and coriander. Then I add a can of tomatoes (or a few fresh ones, chopped) and then stuff the pot with as many greens as I can. In this mix, I also put a few straps of garlic leaves, but you might like to fry some garlic in the initial spice fry.


Whilst it might seem a lot, all those greens will wilt down. Once wilted, I whizz it up in a blender until it's as smooth as I can get it. It then goes back in the pan whilst I cook the rice, and I add a little stock powder as well. I also add a pinch of chilli to my own personal taste. Now here's something I do with my saag panneer that isn't particularly traditional either - I add some coconut milk, about half a can. It makes it super creamy and delicious - not necessary coconutty, but just lovely and creamy.


Then, I add the cubed paneer. I get mine from the Indian grocers, or make it if I have the time (it's just lemon juice and milk). Sometimes, if I don't fancy the dairy or are cooking for vegans, I'll use tofu instead. After heating it through, it's done - served with brown rice and homemade lime pickle, I totally believe it's the best foraged saag paneer ever. All the better for being full of medicinal plants foraged locally and that didn't cost me a cent. I totally love doing different things with these kinds of plants, ones that most people don't think 'oooh, dinner' - there's treasures in nature that are absolutely worth experimenting with, don't you think? And this sure beats the old nettle soup, that's for sure. Yum!


241577189_253417576783645_4793061079021290917_n.jpg

With Love,

image.png



The Herbal Hive Community

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency