Making Nettle Powder With Great Joy

I'm sorry I have missed the weekly challenges, this post probably doesn't fit anywhere but I wanted to share the joy I felt when I mixed my own nettle powder today. It wasn't my plan at all. It started yesterday when I asked my mom if I could use the sauna. I could, but she had been using the space for storage lately and some stuff needed to be removed first. I had a look and discovered some dried nettles. I knew my mom mixes them into a powder and I decided to try this myself πŸ™‚

IMG_0831.jpg
Dried nettle in the sauna.

So I took them inside and separated the leaves from the stem and threw them into a mixer. It was so much fun watching them turn into powder. I don't know, I felt like a kid, making my own medicine or something. And the smell just felt so nice. In the way that you could tell this is very good for you.

IMG_0859.JPG
This is not the newest or fanciest mixer but I remember my parents had it already when I was growing up. I call that quality.

IMG_0846.jpg
And voila! Transformed into a powder.

I got so excited I wanted to find a nice jar. I didn't have time for this until this evening though so unfortunately the daylight was gone and I wasn't really able to get a nice picture.

IMG_0861.jpg
I'll bring this jar of nettle powder with me back to Stockholm in a couple of days.πŸ™‚

I know this is really basic and I sound like a child writing about this but that was actually what I really liked about it. I tend to think that everything about herbalism or harvesting and preparing things like this is really complicated and time-consuming. And I tend to lose interest. And also doubt that I will actually ever use this tea/tincture/oil etc. But I can't deny there's a special feeling when you actually know exactly where the herb is coming from and also to prepare it like this. I know, I didn't do this from the very first step because my mom had already picked the nettles and dried them. But honestly, with all the nettle abundance she has where she lives and also with all the space she has, she could easily dry so many nettles here if she wanted.

I got very inspired, and this wasn't planned at all. I simply wanted to take a sauna bath and discovered these nettles instead πŸ™‚. (To be honest the sauna bath didn't happen, I got a bit distracted today and mom's car broke down, but that's another story).

Now I feel next summer will be the time when I start to harvest local herbs. One herb I'm planning on drying is raspberry leaves since I know they are good for period cramps. And my mom has a lot of raspberries.

Divider The Herbal Hive.png

I think this experience with the nettles today also reminded me of my childhood. Because I used to pick them as a child and my dad always made nettle soup of the very tender ones, when they just came up. It was a sign of spring. And I remember I was so fascinated by that you could actually just go outside and pick something growing wild and make a meal of it.

My mom is always telling me that I need more iron and the nettle powder will help with that. She actually told me I shouldn't take more than one teaspoon a day. I will not (I tend to forget these jars she gives me from time to time) but this one I will leave on my cabinet so I can see it daily.

I feel so inspired at the moment. I think next year will be a great year. I believe it'll be a year when I take more action. I feel ready.

We have an expression in Sweden that's goes Det fΓ₯r bΓ€ra eller brista. The closest expression in English would probably be It's now or never but that's not quite right. The direct translation would be something like It either bear or break. Well let's see. I think that's it for tonight πŸ™‚.

Thanks for reading 🌸

Love and blessings to you all πŸ’š

footer The Herbal Hive.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency