Exploring The Banana Farm At Panabo City!

C077370B-9511-4E9F-8A62-C574828B167D.png

Mindanao is known as the food basket of the Philippines and Panabo City is the Banana Capital. Perhaps the banana experience was one of the highlights when I traveled to Dapco, Panabo City, Davao del Norte, Philippines.

While on our way, I have seen how vast the plantation of bananas in the place occupying almost all of the areas of the place and I was so thrilled to be here for the first time. Although there are banana plantations in Bukidnon, nothing beats the Banana Capital of the Philippines.

IMG_8275_jpg.jpeg

My aunt was working at the packing center of the farm so I had the chance to explore there. Excited as I was, I captured the serene view of the walkway while being surrounded by a vast plantation of bananas.

Before we went there, my aunt asked for permission and I was so lucky to witness how to grow bananas. It was interesting to know that there are several processes before the bananas reach the table for consumption.

IMG_8149_jpg.jpeg

We passed by a small gate and when we arrived there, workers were processing the bananas. I had a pose at the entrance as I was surrounded by millions of bananas and they are known to be quality bananas for export.

Apart from the walkway, I had the chance to have a glimpse of how a banana plantation worked with the working demonstration farm workers.

IMG_8165_jpg.jpeg

IMG_8158_jpg.jpeg

IMG_8162_jpg.jpeg

I have seen how the workers were harvesting the Cavendish Bananas. It was amazing to witness how they grew and saw the process at the packing house while they were all preparing the bananas for export.

I enjoyed strolling around at Dapco and meanwhile, my feet led me to the packing center where many workers were assigned different procedures. I entered the center and took a selfie with the millions of bananas as my background.

IMG_8175_jpg.jpeg

I was so curious at the moment so I explored inside and saw what the banana goes through. It was even more thrilling to see many unripe Cavendish bananas hanged at the chain waiting to be processed.

At the other portion, I saw a woman handling the chain with the banana stems. The stems were at the chain and to be placed on another station.

IMG_8208_jpg.jpeg

IMG_8202_jpg.jpeg

IMG_8198_jpg.jpeg

IMG_8197_jpg.jpeg

IMG_8192_jpg.jpeg

Afterward, I went through the back portion of the packhouse and I saw how the bananas were washed in a huge container. According to my aunt, the bananas must be carefully handled. And she said that it is part of her work.

I am truly amazed at how the bananas have gone through a lot of processes. I wanted to touch the water but it was prohibited according to my aunt since sanitation is so strict inside. After soaking the bananas, they will be transferred into the chain, ready for boxing.

IMG_8210_jpg.jpeg

IMG_8215_jpg.jpeg

IMG_8240_jpg.jpeg

IMG_8252_jpg.jpeg

IMG_8243_jpg.jpeg

And then as I went at the sides, I also saw selected bananas they call as reject banana. Some of them were to be given and the others are sold at a cheaper price. There were so plenty of them stocked at the corner and as well as the stalks or stems of the bananas.

IMG_8176_jpg.jpeg

Witnessing the process was quite interesting as I appreciated what a banana goes through before it is served to everyone. Indeed, it was a wonderful experience.

Perhaps being at Dapco, Panabo City, Davao del Norte for the first time was so memorable. It becomes more interesting to experience the large space and the cool air at the place. It made me inspired to grow in my backyard and if time permits, how I wish I could go bigger into a proposed farm project.

HiveDivider_sm.png

Disclaimer: All texts and pictures are my own unless otherwise stated.

pinkchic--rc.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency