My Wednesday Walk That Made me Smile - At The River Cruise Port - Vienna

Wednesday Walk - Make Me Smile ...15.09.2021 Edition

Hey guys! Welcome to my blog!

Today I´ll take you to the Danube River Cruise Port in Vienna. This port is where all those tourists cruise liners stop to view the city even for just a short time. Most of these liners come from Germany to Slovakia and Hungary to enjoy a stop-over and are given the chance to view Vienna, make shopping and all that is there to it. A friend of mine , actually a high school batchmate who now lives in the U. S. and her family joined such cruise a couple of years ago. We met and I showed them around the city. His boys said they have never seen so much castles in their lives, Lol!

1.JPG

Actually, these images were taken last Sunday when we visited the St. Francis Assisi Catholic Parish Church. I made photos of the exterior but was not able to see the interior of the church because it was closed.

7.JPG

2.JPG

This is a revolving restaurant that is still part of the 22nd District. From the restaurant windows, one can see the whole view of the city of Vienna.

3.JPG

So I went down the road to the Port so I could see the whole structure of the Church and went to an elevated area of the Reichsbrücke (Empire Bridge). This is where I had the chance to take my images under the bridge.
5.JPG

There were a few cruise liners at the time I was there. I even met some of my fellow Filipinos travelling with these boats.

4.JPG

6.JPG

7.JPG

8.JPG

The Port Area had been renovated, improved since he last time I was here some 8 years back. There is a steak house in the vicinity and are always full around mid-day. But in the time of the pandemic, I am not sure of the latest. I was still seeing people going in this restaurant.

9.JPG

10.JPG

People are now going out to enjoy outside after being confined to their homes because of the pandemic. The children can now go to their classrooms while the parents work. On Sundays, they go out and enjoy the open air and most especially enjoy the Danube River and the Donau Inseln.

12.JPG

Below, the majestic St. Francis of Assisi Catholic Parish Church that I took from a platform underneath the Reichsbrücke.

IMG_1000.JPG

One of the buildings behind the tallest one called DC Tower (below image), is the Headquarters of The United Nations as well as the Austria Conference Center . We live about 6 kilometers from this tall building.

11.JPG

I have enjoyed being at the Port on a bright sunny day. The breeze had been so clean and cool that I had fond memory of it sweeping past my face, and it #MadeMeSmile!
I hope that when you visit Vienna, you will be able to visit this lovely area too.

Many thanks to @tattoodjay and @elizacheng for their wonderful #WednesdayWalk and #MakeMeSmile collaboration.
All images were photographed and are owned by @mers.


GIF by @Gremayo.gif
GIF/Banner by @gremayo

Camera used: Canon EOS 90D..Lens: Canon EFS 18-135mm
[//]:# (!pinmapple 48.224781 lat 16.407892 long River Cruise Port, 1020 Vienna d3scr)
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
49 Comments
Ecency