Abandoned Fish Market

7.10.2021 - Thursday Morning

Hi hi.. if your reading this post, thank you very much. This is what I did yesterday. I mounted my GoPro on my chest and just press record when I felt that it was appropriate. Will be posting that video here soon.

Breakfast - Dumplings

img_20211007_091743.jpg

These are dumplings fried. They have this crunchy texture and at the same time juicy. When you bite on the dumpling, the liquid flows out of the dumplings.

One of the things I wanted to do for the day was to get a hair cut.

My wife in a phone screen

There are some murals in the city that is there for tourist and locals to pose with. This is one abandoned mural. There are some weeds on the ground that hasn't been removed.

img_20211007_094535.jpg

The middle of the road

The city started here. About a century ago, this was what the only part of the city. This place has seen its fair share of bloodshed when the Japanese came

img_20211007_094801.jpg

Classic barber

I wanted to get a hair cut and my wife went to Facebook to search for one and we happen to stumble upon this shop. So we went searching and finally found this place. The last remaining few barbers whom are already in their sixties.

img_20211007_094924.jpg

Even the guy in the poster needs a mask. Hong Kong's famous singer.

Before me, was another customer waiting for his hair cut. I was told that I needed to wait another fifteen minutes. Fine with me.

img_20211007_094929.jpg

The man waiting for his barber

img_20211007_095011.jpg

I wonder if the older folks would in some distant future feel left out once all these classic barber shops close down. It's sad, isn't it. Modern society clashing with the old. I love the smell of these types of barber shops. Just plain old hair cut, the feeling of sitting on those cushions chairs that spins around. So I went around exploring the area nearby.

The fortune plant

img_20211007_095925.jpg

In the city, many grow this plant and if the leaves grow in eight, it's a sign of good luck. This plant isn't originally from Malaysia. Somewhile ago, I checked its origins and its from South America.

The back of a building

img_20211007_100441.jpg

If I took this picture and did some colour grading, it would look stunning. The back alleys of a building. The algae and weeds.

The abandoned Fish market

img_20211007_100627.jpg

This was the fish market of the city for a long long time, perhaps a couple of decades till it moved to a new location. This place is not totally abandoned and at is home to some of the homeless in the city. While I was there, I saw one lady cleaning her clothes. After a while, this building is going to be demolished for a new building.

Other view of the building

img_20211007_100643.jpg

I am not sure what this part of the building was used for.

img_20211007_100717.jpg

The temple

img_20211007_100814.jpg
This is one of the oldest temple in the city and renovations are currently on the way to modernize it. At the moment, it is empty but on normal days pre covid, there would be tourist that come here and locals to give their offerings to the deities. This temple is next to the abandoned fish market.

Lighting shop

img_20211007_112803.jpg

A couple of months ago, I bought this socket from this lighting shop and the USB part of it suddenly couldn't charge so I went and changed a new one since it is still under warranty. So many beautiful lights. Thomas Edison would have been proud of what his invention has become.

Soaking my tortoise

img_20211007_170855_1_.jpg

37 days - That's how long this tortoise has been here in my house. 4 months old approximately. Every couple of days, I give it a good soak to get it hydrated and do gentle knocks on its shell beneath to have it release some urates. The white stuff are the urates. For Sulcata tortoise, they have to get their urates out or else, urate stones would form and in many cases are fatal.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency