Let's make atsara (pickled unripe papaya with a twist)

IMG_20211007_190643.jpg

Hello fellow Hive,

I made pickled unripe papaya with raisins today.

A relative came to visit my mother-in-law from the city so I decided to make an Atsara to be a side dish for our chicken dinner. Normally we Filipino are very hospitable whenever somebody is visiting over we always prepare good food to offer.

Atsara is a pickle made from grated unripe papaya proudly originated in my Asian country the "Philippines".

To those who have seen my other content that I usually hunt for banana blossom in a small forest near us, I can also see many wild papayas so yesterday I came back there and picked some for my recipe today.

IMG_20211007_154357.jpg
I only use 7 pieces

IMG_20211007_223303.jpg

IMG_20211007_223450.jpg

  • I clean the papayas and I started grating them one by one.

IMG_20211007_162142.jpg

  • After, I squeeze 3 tablespoons of salt to extract the existing liquid.
  • I boil water for the grated papaya to be half cook but make sure not to overcook it or else it may tastes awful.
    (
    do a hard squeeze after to remove the salt and juice and combine with the boiling water*)
  • soak for 5/minutes remove, cool down and do more squeeze to remove the existing liquid again.

Another step is to make the relish

IMG_20211007_211837.jpg

  • I use 1-kilo coconut wine vinegar. 1/4 brown sugar, carrot, bell pepper, ginger, onion, garlic salt and pepper.
    And I want to have a twist so I add raisins.

In a pan I combine vinegar and all the spices salt and pepper to taste boil and add on sugar and it's ready to combine with the grated papaya.Lasty add on the raisins to achieve an Atsara with a twist of raisins.🤤

IMG_20211007_211939.jpg

The outcome. I heard my visitors saying they like it and they want to ask some to bring it back home tomorrow so from the container I packed them to let it ferment more and to give some for them and also I give some of my neighbours here.

IMG_20211007_194734.jpg

IMG_20211007_194707.jpg
Eating pickled papaya and its benefits

  • Great in lowering cholesterol, rich in fibre, vitamin C and antioxidants.
  • Aids in weight loss.
  • boost the immune system.
  • great snack for a person with diabetes.
  • Aids in good eye health.
  • Improves digestion.
  • Helps ease menstrual cramps.

Thank you for reading 😌

I appreciate it so much and I hope you enjoy reading it.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency