Fix A Scratched Helmet Visor With Toothpaste!

Autumn has arrived in Western New York state. Cooler days have arrived and it's getting downright cold when the sunsets. Time to pull out that winter full face helmet. My winter helmet is a size larger so I can wear my jacket hoodie inside the helmet. Keeps my head and neck nice and warm during the cold months!

20210929_170311.jpg

I'm absolutely terrible with helmets! They get all scratched up because of the way I toss them around. When I pulled out my winter helmet I discovered this big white scratch going across the front of the visor. It looks like it brushed up against something with white paint. I have no idea what, but it was rather bothersome. It turns out, you can polish out light visor scratches with toothpaste. 🤣

20210929_170514.jpg

You'll need a water bottle with a little water in it. Just enough to dampen the paper towel. I used Colgate toothpaste, I'm pretty sure any brand would work though. Finally a couple small pieces of damp paper towel folded up in a square.

20210929_170538.jpg

Once you have what you need just squirt a little paste onto the affected areas. Then rub in a circular motion using a dry paper towel. Once the toothpaste is worked into the scratch a bit, dampen the paper towel and keep rubbing tiny circles around the affected areas. You want to rub in a circular motion. You're pretty much buffing out the scratches with toothpaste 🤣

20210929_171620.jpg

I repeated this process several times and eventually did the entire visor focusing a lot on the deep scratch going right down the center. It's not good as new, but it's pretty darn close. Definitely extended the life of this visor!

20210929_172044.jpg

This buffed out all the tiny scratches nicely. The deep scratch going down the center is still there but nowhere near as bothersome as it was! All the light tiny scratches are pretty much gone. The deeper ones are still there, but not nearly as visible. I imagine if I had put in a little more time, I could have made a lot more of the scratches disappear. I can live with this! The entire process took under 10 minutes and the results were fantastic. Not to mention my helmet smells minty fresh!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency