My Basil After A Month

After posting about my small basil cutting a month ago, look how big it had become now.

IMG_20210618_183621.jpg
The leaves are dark green, the stems got thicker and longer. The herb is twice the size of its pot. I did not notice the growth only today when I check on it after being busy with family matters.

k75bsZMwYNu2L3iBMXq5y7xeiy1isFJsZxnMZSXuXEsxe4ee1cUkGyPnVCyPE9QAjGJRLJeBdfn5sw7njM8jsGndUKts9BEnaympGXSt9uewSrF9BAY9LUwx1p45KDnxH4uTsCyPZsBZR32BYLcQNRqfKJf2tcu8z.png
This is the small cutting from where the basil came. I love cooking and recipes that call for basil I would usually skip because basil leaves are quite expensive from the supermarket and I do not have anything in my garden. Like I said on my previous post, I saved one small cutting of basil from my kitchen waste and propped it on a pot. I'm new to gardening and I was just trying my luck to grow basil. So what did I do to have successfully grown one?

  1. I kept the pot on a safe spot away from snails. Snails love munching on basil leaves. I know because I bought a potted basil before from the supermarket and it was expensive just to be eaten by snails.
  2. I used whatever soil available from my garden. I don't have fertiliser handy but it grew just fine.
  3. Watered it on a regular basis and made sure it gets enough sunlight in the morning. They wilt if they stay longer until the afternoon. Growth is stunted if the basil is placed on a shaded area base on my observation
  4. Remove any weed that grows along with it.

Some says remove the flowers so the basil would continue growing leaves, any advice guys? Let me know in the comments.

That is how simple it is for me growing a basil. I thought that it would require extra care but there are times when I forget to water mine but it survived. One thing I learned, it is possible to grow something like a basil from kitchen waste. I am planning to repeat this process and grow another pot.

Hope this post was of help especially to those wanting to grow basil. Until next time. Hive On
@quatro

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency