October garden journal and last call for Hi from Hive entries

I've had so many unsuccessful attempts at growing my bok choi from seeds that @sjarvie5 sent to me last year, I'm starting to wonder if I can ever harvest one decent grown up bok choi. I planted my latest batch two months ago, and this time I'm quite determined that they don't get eaten up by pests. In the end, I took the easy option and became a tiger parent by keeping them indoors. I figured that was the only way to protect them.

One day I had to take them outdoors for a little while, it was only for about half an hour. The next day I started to see little holes appear in the leaves! How annoying, some little pests must have seen them and followed them back indoors. I tried, but can't see the annoying little bxxxard anywhere, not even with my super duper new macro lens mobile phone camera. Luckily the condition isn't too bad and I think the bok choi may make it to harvest. Yah!!! At last!!!

livinguktaiwan divider.png

When I replanted my six bok choi to my milk carton containers I found an odd one out a few weeks later. It was much bigger than the the others and the leaf shape was different. It looked like a choi sum, another type of Chinese vegetable. I'm thinking this seed may have got mixed up with the others when @sjarvie5 was sorting out her seeds. In was getting quite enormous, even larger than the choi sum I normally buy. Yesterday, I couldn't resist and finally harvest it. Definitely the best fresh veggie I've ever had.

20211013_133900.jpg


I think I'm a bit hooked on growing things now and am trying to grow random things even though it's out of season. I planted some seeds from my butternut squash, a while ago. Butternut squash is a summer plant and I doubt they will survive the cold winter months if I plant them outdoors. My six seedlings are flourishing and it looks like there are some buds coming along. I'm not sure what to do with them yet.


The other thing I started to grow is a cut off from an onion. Onion is a winter plant and I'm told it's quite easy to grow, so I may plant this outdoors soon and see how it goes.


Last and not the least, my tomatoes. I'm not sure what's come over them the last couple of weeks. The weather has been a bit erratic and we had a few days of heavy rain. The soil was quite damp so I stopped watering them for a few days, then the leaves started to wilt and some of the tomatoes started to dry out on the vine. Google said the plant might be distressed due to over watering, or underwatering or the conditions aren't right. Ok, that doesn't tell me anything.
20211014_173825.jpg

20211014_173216.jpg

One of the raw little tomatoes fell off the other day, so I took it indoors and placed it on the windowsill for it to ripen. Today it started to go dry as well and turned into a little bouncy ball. So weird
20211014_163223.jpg

Anyway, lots of unanswered questions about nature from a noob. All part of the exploration process,

livinguktaiwan divider.png

Hi From Hive Contest
Finally I'm going to finish off this post by shilling my latest contest. The Hi from Hive contest is for you to share your Hive journey and experience. It will finish in a little more than 24 hours at the time of me posting this, specifically Friday 15th October 2315 UTC, check the countdown on this post.

So far there have been over 50 entries from around the world and I'd love to see even more people share their experiences, particular if there is no pin in your country yet. Why not check out the map below to see who's who from where and join the contest.

Full details of the contest can be found below, and don't forget you don't have much time to enter into the contest. By the way, did I mention the prize pool is 20 HBD plus 50% of the contest announcement post payout. A few days ago it looked like the prize pool may reach $150 but the Hive prices has dropped a bit since, so I may look to top it to $150. What's a few bucks between friends 😄
@livinguktaiwan/invitation-to-enter-the-hi-from-hive-contest

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments
Ecency