Garden Journal Update October 23: Potting Over

Morning fellow Gardeners

For the last two weeks, I have been meaning to pot over my cantaloupe seedlings, which are growing far faster than the watermelon. Earlier this week I realised I could see roots at the bottom of the container. I realised that I couldn't wait anymore, so I went to get a 20L container and a bag of potting soil.

Normally I'm super clumsy with knives, but decided to add the drainage holes regardless with a Stanley knife. Luckily, today wasn't a day of clumsiness, and I added 8 holes without slicing myself to pieces.

I filled the container with enough soil to almost the top and left a hole in the center to place the soil from the cantaloupe container.

It was a nightmare getting the soil out of the container, but eventually the four seedlings were transplanted over into their new home. I managed to space them a little, but their roots were already pretty tangled and I have no one to blame except myself. They should be fine though. Now to just keep them watered and prepare to build the necessary scaffolding for when they start to climb.

Here is an update of my rosemary that I finally moved outside. It's doing great, but seems to be concentrating on its root growth now, and hasn't seemed to grow much in height. However, it's green and healthy and I am happy with its development.

A few weeks ago I was at a different restaurant that place thyme on the plates. I got four sprigs, but sadly, only one of the three developed flowers and roots. These roots were also starting to become rootbound, and since the cantaloupe had vacated their container, I thought I'd recycle it to give the thyme a little more time to get bigger, and me time to get a nice pot for it!

Current Garden

My three bush beans are doing great, but I'm a little concerned about their yellow appearance, which normally means they have a nitrogen deficiency. I'll have to work on that. The whole reason I planted the beans with the watermelon was that they are nitrogen-fixers while the watermelon is nitrogen hungry. Maybe it's a little too hungry, and I'll have to add some extra fertilizer. But for now I'll keep an eye on it and see if it improves during the week.

My two cucumbers are thriving, my bell peppers not so much and I had to replant some seeds. It's getting hot during the day and I think where I have the planter isn't conducive to supporting the peppers. I may move them to where the strawberries are to give them morning sun and shade by late afternoon. Will see how that goes.

If you're wondering what happened to the radishes, look at this update. Honestly, I think these are the best pickled radishes I have ever made.
The radishes that remain I am keeping so they will bolt and I can gather their seeds for autumn planting.

The Future

As of right now, I am not planning on planting any more seeds as I am sure I will be overrun with ramblers within a few weeks. My next plan is to concentrate on building supports for the cantaloup and watermelon seedlings. I am unsure if I want to use bamboo or get a piece of cattle gate. I will have to see what is in the budget. I still need to consider getting some flowers to help attract bees to my yard. I have noticed some scarab beetles and hoverflies, but no bees as of yet.

Anyway, that's it for my update. Keep digging in the dirt fellow Gardeners, and I hope to have a longer update next week for you!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency