Garden Tomatoes

Hello, hivers!

I'll start this post by saying that I haven't had the ambition necessary to write a post for the past few days. The past week has been kind of weird, mentally, for me. I haven't been sleeping well lately, and that tends to bring on a bit of depression that I would otherwise be able to handle better. In the midst of that, I've been trying to keep up with my tomatoes.

It seems that all of the Roma paste tomatoes and half of the Amish paste tomatoes started getting ripe at the same time. Along with that, the regular tomatoes have been starting to get ripe, but not all at the same time. I'm ok with that, because if they were all getting ripe, I'd have a hard time processing all of them in such a short time.

I've been processing the paste tomatoes and making pasta sauce with them. So far, I've managed to process enough paste tomatoes to get 9 quarts of pasta sauce after cooking down all the tomato juice and pulp from the tomatoes. I'm going to write a post about that process in the near future.

I've also been canning the regular tomatoes in pints for my winter season cooking. I wrote a post about that about a week and a half ago. You can read that post here.
@amberyooper/canning-the-first-tomatoes-of-the-season
As of this writing, I have 24 pint jars of tomatoes, but there's lots more to do.

Right now, I have a lot of tomatoes waiting for me to get busy on processing them for the next canning session. I picked them again yesterday, both paste and regular types. I got quite a few tomatoes from that picking.

These are the greenhouse paste tomatoes.
DSCN5571.JPG

Paste tomatoes from out in the garden.

DSCN5565.JPG

Here's the ripe regular tomatoes. These are either Amana Orange, or Black Krim tomatoes. The Amana Orange tomatoes are a lot larger than I expected them to be, these things are huge! The biggest ones will almost fill a pint jar each.

DSCN5573.JPG

There's still a lot more paste tomatoes to pick once they get ripe.

DSCN5566.JPG

I've also got a lot more of the big regular tomatoes still on the plants, but it's a bit harder to tell with these bushy plants.

DSCN5567.JPG

I think that tomorrow is going to be a busy day with tomatoes. It will certainly be nice to have the results of all the work this winter.

Well, that's all I have for this post, thanks for checking it out!

hive garden banner.png

amber_yooper.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency