Titan Quest: Tale of the Wu Part 1

Last week I made a POST explaining how I discovered that there was a 4th expansion to Titan Quest and how this is pulling me back to the game since I have no way of stopping myself from hacking and slashing and blasting my way through each new installment of the game.

Usually, when there is an expansion, I play a new character from the beginning, as I did with Ragnarok. That expansion added the Mastery of Rune and so I mixed it with Warfare, creating a Berserker, and off I went.

Usually I think that adding Warfare to ANYTHING makes for a simple to use and powerful character. I do not mean PvP, just to complete the game in.

Of course, usually that mean finishing all the quests in all the Acts in normal, but Eternal Embers added FOUR new Acts, only accessible through the Legendary difficulty! 😱😱😱😱😱😱

New Character Choice

So now I am in for a bit of a trek... new character. I will need to play this character through Normal - Greece, Egypt, Orient, Hades, Ragnarok, Atlantis(Atlantis is optional, still going to do it though) then get into Epic Difficulty - Greece, Egypt, Orient, Hades, Ragnarok, Atlantis and THEN Legendary - Greece, Egypt, Orient, Hades, Ragnarok, Atlantis.

Technically, the moment I finish Legendary Ragnarok, I get to go to the 4 Acts of Eternal Embers, but I will finish Atlantis as well and then start the new content. I have no idea what waits for me there... but I will find out.

I decided to play the Wu, foregoing my usual of taking the new Mastery - Nedian and mixing it with Warfare, creating a Daoist.

Instead, I am playing Wu, Nedian and Earth. Making for an interesting combo. To make matters WORSE, I have decided to build my Wu as a Mage character. With both Nedian and Earth adding Intelligence and Dexterity and no Strength I opted for this instead of trying to spec the Wu as a fighter.

I called him Yu. Due to our obviously oriental theme and Rush Hour 3. 🤣🤣🤣

So let us Begin!

The story starts in Helos. A little town with a Satyr problem. You defeat the shaman and get on your merry way to Megera, you need to fight through an assortment of Greek mythalogical creatures to get there, finally claiming your sacred olive branch as an offering to the Oracle of Delphi. The rest of Act 1 will be in the following post once I complete it!

Let me show you below! - Note: I have set the graphics down to ensure no lag is present in the game.

First Screenie: I am in the Camp of the Spartans. Behind his men, King Leonidas stands. I need to defeat Nessus, a boss Centaur before they will let me speak to him and continue the plot. I was already using a Staff at this point. I am only Level 5 so technically I am still a Nedian

Here I have the Auro of Tranquility constant active spell. It drains constant Mana, but when you have enugh intelligence, your Energy Regeneration beats the cost.

Running while the Aura of Tranquility is on leaves a trail of gold and red particles.

Here I am level 7. I have not used anything from a transfer item area and I have found my first Epic gear, the Boar Hunter's Shield. Not for me.

Level 8 and I am finally Yu, the Wu. I told you!

My secret with a new Titan Quest character is to allocate no skillpoints at Level 7, that way at level 8, I can unlock the second tier of skills - at the 4 and then choose 3 skills.

I chose Earth Enchantment with the Brimstone synergy and Ring of Flame. This means I added base Fire Damage to my attacks as well as Burn Damage and I increase those damages. I also give this to party members within 6 meters.

Ring of Flame means that I damage everyone periodically near me with Fire damage.

Meanwhile my Nedian skilltree looks like this:

Potent Elixer and Essence of Jade are passive skills that boost what my potions do for me.

Consequences and Mutual Suffering are passives that confer reduced resistences on a target and can make it spread to others when it activates. This is going to be great as I start dealing more elemental damages.

Breath Attack I bound at this point to my Right hand mouse button so I can fire off a sone of Fire and Poison damage when needed and attack with my staff the rest of the time. Breath Attack has a limited range, best to use it when they are close. The attack also has the chance to cause Fear or Confusion so it tends to scatter attackers around.

Together with Aura of Tranquility which gives me additional Resistances, Damage Absorption and a chance at Fire Retaliation.

When I fire off Breath attack it breaks up the enemy attack, when they hit me, I take less damage and I return damage and cause damage to those who stand near me, plus I have inflicted Fire, Burn and Poison damage.

Not bad! Really tough for a mage!

Onwards

Epic Fire Mage battle with Fernos Charskin a unique Satyr Shaman hero. This battle took quite some time, with both of us being able to take on and give Fire Damage.

Levelling up some more, I can no summon a Teracotta General to fight by my side!

This is a permanent summon that has a basic attack as well as a non-basic skill called Lethal Strike, which deals Bleeding Damage and causes a 20% reduction in enemy health.

I got another two Epic items when I got my offering for the Oracle of Delphi. The Hyperion Cuirass is meant for the Warfare Mastery as it gives +2 to Dodge Attacks skill from the Warfare Mastery.

Hoi Polloi is an interesting item since it GRANTS you an ability instead of increasing a skill you already have. Volley is the change of throwing 3 projectiles instead of 1. Although Throwing weapons are better in the hands of Hunting, this weapon can be used effectively by many characters.

I just store my Epic weapons and armor for other characters.

That's everything for Part 1. I hope you enjoyed it!

Cheers!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency