Upscaling your old video games using emulators

Are there some games you miss, but trying to play them again would just look horrific on a modern display? Well this is where upscaling comes into play. There are plugins for many consoles that allow you make the graphics look much better by using your video card to render them in a better way.

You can upscale anywhere from 1x to 8x, and making use of a 4k monitor makes sense when you upscale a game that far. Many console emulators for the PS1, PS2, Xbox, Dreamcast and others allow this upscaling. Though you do need a video card with a decent amount of memory. I use a 290x on one of my PCs and a 1080 in another computer to do exactly this. So some larger video cards are needed to upscale drastically.

If you have any questions about this or need help upscaling let me know and I would be happy to help you out. I am currently playing Vice City again with upscaled graphics and I have really been enjoying this game that is almost 20 years old now.

Links to a couple emulators that support upscaling:

https://www.epsxe.com/
PS1

https://pcsx2.net/
PS2

I am recording the gameplay and will post it once I get through my other gaming content I have not posted just yet.

Knowing I can do this makes me think about old games I gave up on as I did not want to go blind trying to enjoy them on a modern LCD display. But now I can revisit those games.

So far I have mostly been upscaling to 1080P but looking forward to upscaling all the way to 4k which would be four times the resolution of 1080P. Hope my video cards can handle it.

LBRY Video Link


Addresses below to help me buy better camera equipment and support me to travel to locations to do photo and video and overall great blogs in new places.

CoinAddress
BTC:bc1qhfmvd2gywg4fvrgy2kkkkyqta0g86whkt7j8r7
LTC:ltc1qdyzm5cwgt8e2373prx67yye6y9ewk0l8jf3ys9
DASH:XkSqR5DxQL3wy4kNbjqDbgbMYNih3a7ZcM
ETH:0x045f409dAe14338669730078201888636B047DC3
DOGE:DSoekC21AKSZHAcV9vqR8yYefrh8XcX92Z
ZEN:znW9mh62WDSCeBXxnVLCETMx59Ho446HJgq

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency