Brawlhalla: Never underestimate a game without playing it correctly, my journey as a proplayer has begun.


image.png

Sometimes underestimating a videogame without knowing it completely can be a mistake. Today I will talk to you about a game that I criticized a lot and that right now has me hooked, this game is Brawlhalla.

Before I start with my gaming experience, I want to clarify what were my thoughts towards this game and how I came to want to play it and learn it at a competitive level.

I met this game for the first time at a small party at a friend's house. That night while we were drunk we played several fighting games that were installed on the PC. Due to the time it took us a 2vs2 game, we had to improvise and get an additional controller at a nearby neighbor's house, so we could play the 4 of us. Here is where everything starts to become blurry, we played several video games that allowed 4 simultaneous players and one of the ones I remember is Brawlhalla.

The only thing I can remember about the games is how much fun it was, my friends and I laughed a lot, only one of them knew how to play decently and beat us up, the rest of us, including me, had no idea what to do. All my life I've been shit at fighting games, I'm very bad with coordination and combos, I never understand how pro players can win rounds sometimes without taking a single hit, that seems insane to me, I'd better get to the point.

That same night while drunk I decided to get good at Brawlhalla. I got home, settled in and downloaded the game, to my surprise I disliked the game within the first few minutes of playing it. My lack of skill made me misjudge it, I thought I had only enjoyed it that night because I was drunk and with my friends. I immediately uninstalled it and added it to my list of bad games.

These days I have been dreaming quite a lot and in one of those dreams I had, I was quite a beast at fighting games. That same day I was thinking about which fighting game to start practicing hard, I had no clue, I thought about taking my old 3ds and practicing on Smash, but I really wanted something else, being good at some fighting game is my thwarted dream. @rishahp has been making content about Brawlhalla for quite some time and that same day he added on the Hive Gaming discord a video of him doing a really good combo in Brawlhalla and that motivated me. I must admit that I criticized Brawlhalla quite a bit but the game has its own thing.

One of the characters I grew fond of is Jiro, who has a sword and a scythe. The scythe is a weapon that I loved as soon as I saw it, but it is quite complicated to use. The sword is much simpler but that doesn't detract from its effectiveness.

image.png

Risha became my sensei, he taught me the basic combos with some weapons and gave me the basics of the game, a complete and quick tutorial, as after finishing it he decided to test my new knowledge in the 2vs2 battle.

I admit I was scared, I didn't want to make a fool of myself in the fights. With what risha taught me I did pretty well, at least for my first day in Brawlhalla. We played a lot of games all day and the more I played, the more I felt I got better, that feeling, that feeling, really made me enjoy the game.

Screenshot 2021-09-05 21-49-06.png
Screenshot 2021-09-05 21-48-55.pngScreenshot 2021-09-05 21-49-03.png

My journey has just begun, I will probably dedicate a lot of time to Brawlhalla and abandon all my social life for a long time (the same happened with WoW). The conclusion is simple, don't underestimate a game you just started, in that case Brawlhalla is a game that starts to be fun when you learn and understand it. Without further ado, see you my boomers!

Spanish

A veces subestimar un videojuego sin conocerlo totalmente puede ser un error. El día de hoy les hablaré acerca de un juego que critiqué bastante y que ahora mismo me tiene viciado, este juego es Brawlhalla.

Antes de empezar con mi experiencia de juego, quiero aclararles cuales eran mis pensamientos hacia ese juego y el cómo llegué a querer jugarlo y aprenderlo a nivel competitivo.

Este juego lo conocí por primera vez en una pequeña fiesta en casa de un amigo. Esa noche estando ebrios jugamos varios juegos de pelea que estaban instalados en el PC. Debido a el tiempo que nos tomaba una partida 2vs2, tuvimos que improvisar y conseguir un control adicional en casa de un vecino cercano, así podríamos jugar los 4. Aquí es donde todo se empieza a tornar borroso, jugamos a varios videojuegos que permitían 4 jugadores simultáneos y uno de los que recuerdo es Brawlhalla.

TPc9.gif

Lo único que puedo recordar de las partidas es lo divertido que fue, mis amigos y yo nos reíamos un montón, solo uno de ellos sabía jugar de forma decente y nos dio una paliza, los demás, incluyéndome, no teníamos ni idea de que hacer. Toda mi vida he sido una mierda en los juegos de pelea, soy muy malo con la coordinación y los combos, nunca termino de entender el cómo los pro players pueden ganar rondas a veces sin recibir ni un solo golpe, eso me parece insano, mejor voy al grano.

HlOQ.gif

Esa misma noche estando ebrio decidí hacerme bueno en Brawlhalla. Llegué a casa, me acomodé y descargué el juego, para mi sorpresa el juego me disgustó a los primeros minutos de haberlo jugado. Mi falta de habilidad me hizo juzgarlo mal, creí que solo lo había disfrutado aquella noche debido a que estaba ebrio y estaba junto a mis amigos. Inmediatamente lo desinstalé y lo añadí a mi lista de juegos malos.

Estos días he soñado bastante y en uno de esos sueños que tuve, era toda una bestia en los juegos de pelea. Ese mismo día estuve pensando en que juego de pelea empezar a practicar duro, no tenía ni la menor idea, pensé en coger mi vieja 3ds y practicar en el Smash, pero realmente quería otra cosa, ser bueno en algún juego de pelea es mi sueño frustrado. @rishahp lleva bastante tiempo haciendo contenido acerca de Brawlhalla y ese mismo día añadió en el discord de Hive Gaming un vídeo de él haciendo un combo muy bueno en Brawlhalla y eso me motivó. Debo de admitir que critiqué bastante a Brawlhalla pero el juego tiene lo suyo.

Uno de los personajes a los que he cogido cariño es Jiro, que tiene una espada y una guadaña. La guadaña es un arma que me encantó en cuanto la vi, pero es bastante complicada de usar. La espada es mucho más sencilla, pero eso no le resta eficacia.

Risha se convirtió en mi sensei, me enseñó los combos básicos con algunas armas y me dio los conceptos básicos del juego, un tutorial completo y rápido, ya que después de terminarlo decidió evaluar mis nuevos conocimientos en la batalla 2vs2.

Admito que estaba asustado, no quería hacer el ridículo en las peleas. Con lo que risha me enseñó me fue bastante bien, al menos para ser mi primer día en Brawlhalla. Jugamos todo el día muchas partidas y mientras más jugaba, más sentía que mejoraba, esa sensación, ese sentimiento, realmente me hicieron disfrutar del juego.

Screenshot 2021-09-05 21-49-06.png
Screenshot 2021-09-05 21-48-55.pngScreenshot 2021-09-05 21-49-03.png

Mi camino apenas ha empezado, probablemente le dedique mucho tiempo a Brawlhalla y abandone toda mi vida social por mucho tiempo(Lo mismo pasó con WoW). La conclusión es sencilla, no subestimen un juego que recién acabas de empezar, en tal caso Brawlhalla es un juego que empieza a ser divertido cuando lo aprendes y lo entiendes. Sin más, nos vemos mis boomers!


Gif Sources: Tenor.com

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency