Tales from SCUM Island Ep. 1 - Pilot

Taking a bit of a writing break with the Way of the Battered Husband to try out making content with the games I usually play. Still as always, before we begin, I would like to give a warm shoutout to the @ocd peeps and @indayclara for putting me in their curation highlights. Such support really helps the community grow especially for those that are really trying to put themselves out there.

This would be my first time writing content on the games I play. I chose SCUM because it is still in early access and it's a sandbox game meaning anything goes there. There's still no end goal other than survive. And even in death you can still come back to life sans the gear and loot you acquired so far.

Disclaimer: I'm going to be playing in Single Player mode for this series. I've also set the server to contain more zombies, and loot chance is 10x more as the spawn of loot is very low when set to default settings.. and if you like to get the game for yourself, it's on steam early access, link is here.

So with that out of the way, let's begin..

A New Prisoner in SCUM Island

20210910235301_1.jpg

Upon being dropped in SCUM Island I was greeted by an AI that called itself "DEENA" or Dual Energetic Entity Neural Appliance. DEENA introduced me to the basics of crafting such as making a knife made from rocks, spears, bows and arrows from sticks, and a bag from rags taken from my clothes.

20210910235601_1.jpg

With everything I needed crafted, it was time for me to get a bearing of where I am and where I should go. The town up ahead might be a good place to start..

20210911000911_1.jpg

At a quick glance, there isn't any threat on the open that I need to worry about but you can't be too sure so it might be best to nock an arrow just in case. I need to check house to house for food and warmer clothes to avoid hypothermia.

20210911000957_1.jpg

Luckily the first house had a jacket and beanie that I can wear to avoid getting chilly.. now it's time to look for food and water..

20210911001213_1.jpg

The next house I went into had a zombie laying around, as soon as it heard my footsteps, it got up and started to charge towards me, good thing I had my bow at the ready.. A well placed arrow in the head took it down. Searching the house I found a carton of milk, sooner or later I know milk will spoil so I drank as much as I needed and threw it outside to see if any zombies get lured by the noise.

20210911004958_1.jpg

Continuing the sweep I managed to find a vehicle parked in town, it was badly beaten and only had a few miles left in the tank. If I'm going to use it, I'm going to need to refuel it ASAP. I continued looting the area and placed all of it in the car. Since the map showed I was at the northernmost part of the map, all I can do is drive down south and hopefully get to a gas station before fuel runs out.

20210911011027_1.jpg

Not too far from the first town, I managed to sight a gas station but was filled with zombies. I did my best to whittle them down but my car might not have enough fuel if I just keep doing circles on them. So I had to do something drastic, I parked the car in front of the gas station dispensers and sprinted towards the convenience store. I sustained a bit of damage getting to the store, I'll have to tend to it later, but right now I have to kill the zombies in pursuit.

20210911014538_1.jpg

After the chaos, I patched up my wounds and filled up the car. I also looted what's left in the convenience store and found a badly beaten hunting rifle and a few .22 caliber bullets for it, as well as a few more food supplies to hopefully last me the night. As I was about to leave heard a few beeping sounds from afar, I looked up and saw a drone just watching me.. I wonder who's on the other side, is it the warden of this prison or the spectating masses. I remembered DEENA mentioning this island functions as a game show arena. Whoever is on the other side.. I believe is now keeping tabs on me, so I better watch my back from here on out.

20210911063343_1.jpg

It's starting to get dark out, I have to find a place to rest.. there's another town further south, I'll look for a place to fortify there..

20210911070236_1.jpg

I managed to find shelter before the rain fell.. It's gonna be a while before I can move out again.. and maybe by then it'll be too dark to go anywhere.. I guess we'll wait and see..

20210912054015_1.jpg

Figures.. I can't see much out in the dark. I guess I'll have to stay in the house and hope no troubles come by tonight..

To Be Continued..

If you liked this series and would like to see more make sure you hit that upvote and follow me for future releases on my blogs and any other content I'll end up doing.. Ep. 2 is already in the works, might need to fix the speed of the day and night cycle because it's taking a long time to complete 1 full day or I'll keep it default, who knows if I will need to make an episode that's pretty much working in the dark.

If you have any comments suggestions I'm all ears, hit me up on the comments.. I make sure to be down there every upload..

And if you miss my memes.. I'll leave you with one as well..

5n7g8c.jpg

This is your Papable PandaBear, Marcusen.. See you next time!

Logo Square.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency