New World ~ an exercise in restraint

header.png

New World! A game of war, of corruption, of... infinite gathering.

My header image has five harvestable nodes in it!!! More if you include the trees and rocks. It is the perfect image to display that which assails me at every step.

I can't help myself.

I will be on my way to a quest when a field of hemp appears in the distance. Desperate, I run towards it and harvest it all before some other schmuck can steal it from me then onwards, I continue on towards my quest. But! Now I see some iron veins in the distance! I'm sorry, quest, I'll come back to you later.

Next thing I know, an hour has passed and my bags are full and the lonely quest vanishes from view forevermore as I return to town to empty my bags.

4.png

Today I showed remarkable restraint.

I made myself walk all the way from Everfall to Monarch's Bluff to to Cutlass Keys to First Light to Windsward then back to Everfall. Yes. I walked those many, many kilometres!

The purpose of this grand adventure? To gather herbs and elemental motes and any chests that might cross my path. Mainly herbs. I wanted to cook tonnes upon tonnes of Luck food and I needed herbs to fuel my cookery!

3.png

Not once did I stray from my path. I had the New World Map page open on my browser, tracking herbs, and I had my goal.

I ran past so many iron nodes. So many. I could've made a nice chunk of gold with all the ore I left behind. But that isn't important. All that mattered was the delicious future food I would cook.

2.png

Lucky for me, it was as though the game knew that I was after Luck foods! For, as you can see in the above screenshot, when I looted a random provisioning crate on my travels, the game was ever so thoughtful and gave me a new Luck recipe!

The Luck recipes that you get given by the game just by levelling Cooking up, without need for recipe are: a basic one that increases your luck by 1000, and a better one that increases your luck by 1400. This one that I found increases Harvesting Luck by 1700!

1.png

And once I finally returned to town, I made and listed a bunch of them for a pretty significant price.

Considering most foods on my server sell for between 1-5 gold and the ingredients are worth more, this was a pleasant surprise.

Of course I made some for myself too!

5.png

I am now well prepared to face all of the Harvestables! Herbs, hemp, and various greenery will bow to me and offer me their greens, blues, and perhaps even their purples. My Luck demands it.

In the meantime, allow me to share with you a couple of pretty screenshots I took over the past couple of days. 🙂

I still want First Person camera!

7.png

9.png

10.png

6.png

I hit level 50 this morning, mostly with thanks to all the gathering that I'm doing! And there was much rejoicing!

untitled.gif

 

Until next time! 😄

 


 

All screenshots in this post are courtesy of me, @kaelci, and are from the game: New World.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency