Hardcore Minecraft ~ Round Two!


header.png

After a stressful couple of days I wanted a semi-mindless game that I could just phase out in. Minecraft set to Hardcore mode isn't exactly mindless, but when I'm down in the depths, just mining away, it's safe enough to retreat into my own little world.

I think this is why I like grinding and gathering in games, it's a repetitive task, you're doing something, but you don't need to think, you can phase out. If that makes sense?

Anyway!

In my last attempt at this, I fell down a hole in the roof of the Nether whilst mining for quartz and swiftly splattered across a crimson forest. May my death be more glorious this time.

What's my actual goal? Simply... to live for as long as possible. That's it.

1.png

By some miracle, when I loaded up my new world, I appeared on the edge of a village!

It didn't have a library, or a blacksmith, or even a single treasure chest in any of the houses. Of course it was my luck that I would stumble upon a village in the first seconds of a game only to find absolutely nothing.

So I stole a few of their things (a bed and their vegetables) and went off on an adventure!

And only remembered, after having travelled a thousand or so blocks, that I can give villagers jobs myself by building the necessary equipment. Urgh. Oh well.

3.png

Not wanting some half-arsed home this time, I travelled and travelled until I found -exactly- what I wanted. A dark oak, mushroom-infested forest in which to call my own.

Why do I like this type of area so much? I'm not sure. Aesthetics, I guess. In the old days I used to travel far and wide until I came across a nice flat meadow with a cliff at its back. Now I prefer my home to be dotted with gigantic red mushrooms.

4.png

As always, I started with a mine. And to my joy I stumbled across some iron immediately!

6.png

Unlike my last game where it took me forever to get enough iron at first, this time I was decked out and ready to go within an hour!

The game has gone swimmingly so far.

A village, albeit a wasted one.
A mushroom dark oak forest.
And so much iron right from the get go.

It bodes well!

7.png

Whilst digging deeper into the depths, I came across the usual enemies. But no mineshaft just yet. Very important. Experience and all that. Need to make another cave spider XP grinder like in my last game.

8.png

And at last I reached the correct depth. Depth 11. Home of my branch mine and diamond hunting efforts.

I have yet to begin the hunt, however.

In my last game, I didn't even get to have my storage house set up yet because I was trying to be a perfectionist and get my materials first. Which makes absolutely no sense, I know. This time I was logical and decided to make my storage house first.

Like a normal person.

Even if it's going to look ugly because I don't have the proper materials yet. It's okay. I can do it up later!

Like a normal person. xD

9.png

So off I went into the waters surrounding my forest and shovelled up all the clay I could find.

10.png

And after cooking several stacks of clay into bricks, I began to build my house.

I'm going to go for the same design as I started last time. Which, yes, means going Quartz Mining once more to finalise the more decorative aspects.

But I will be more prepared this time.

Honest!

11.png

I set up an area for my future library. Yay. All those cows and horses I need to kill all over again for leather collection purposes.

So. Much. Leather. Required.

12.png

But at least I have my storage set up this time! 😅

I know it's a hardcore game and there's really no point to so much storage. But it's just who I am. I need to store all the things. I'm a pack-rat. A hoarder. I must keep all the things!

And I need to put a roof on my new home.

Not sure what material yet. Probably dark oak since it's in abundance and would look nice with the bricks (and the quartz once I have it). We'll see how it goes! 😊

 

Until next time! ❤️

 


 

All screenshots in this post are courtesy of me, @kaelci, and are from the game: Minecraft.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency