The Good, The Bad & Happy Teachers' Day!



It was a really nice surprise to receive a shoutout like weeks before teachers' day. Best of all, I have only interacted with the student for a very short while. As today is teacher's day, I look back to my last ten years of teaching with a slight feeling of disappointment.

The Disappointments... But...

Don't get me wrong, there were great moments in my career as seen in some of my posts. However, there are situations where I do wonder why I'm really doing this. One of the best things about the teaching career is that it is your job to make a difference in someone's life. You can stay back at work to tutor someone. You can give free classes to those who need it and you get the joy of learning alongside your students on things that you are both unfamiliar with.

However, some may not see it that way as seen in recent accusations of teachers not doing their work during the lockdown. Personally, I would prefer the classroom since online work requires a lot more effort and preparation. There is also bureaucracy which has made introducing innovative ideas to be near impossible.

Someone once said that it takes an average of ten years for any new innovation in education to take root. I suppose it does take that long due to all the red tape and "discussions" that goes on at the back. So, I guess wait we shall, hoping that a new innovation introduced today will impact the next generation.

I can sit here and name a thousand things wrong with the teaching profession. But, those wrong things about the teaching profession pales in comparison with that one text message received on teachers' day.

There were no fancy parties or gifts (although a mug was a norm and greatly appreciated) and there were no flowers. But a text message was enough.

Why a text mattered so much?

I teach different students. Some are children and others are either teens or at college. For younger children, it would normally be the parents who would encourage them to send these texts on teachers' day. Not that it means any less and I do love receiving those. But for a lot of teens, they go through their days having other "more important" things to do.

The fact that I was remembered means a lot and it does make all the sacrifices worthwhile and for that, I am thankful for the last ten years. Happy teachers' day!



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency