Starcraft 2 | A Complicated Mutation

Winner of the Mutation Creation contest

image.png

This week I wanted to test the winning map of the creation of mutations contest and honestly I was quite surprised because I did not imagine that the degree of difficulty was so high.

The map was Korhal Fissures.

Mutations:

  • Heroes of the Storm: More and more powerful heroes are joining the waves of attacks.

  • Iron Will: Enemy Heroic units reduce all damage taken to a maximum of 10, when any non-Heroic enemy units are close to them.

  • Inspiration: Enemy heroic units increase the armor and movement speed of all enemies within a small radius.

I was a bit nervous as it was the first time I had faced the heroes of the sc2 campaign. Even so, after many attempts we were able to make a strategy which worked almost perfectly because we could not do the optional missions because we focused on the main one.

I started by making a few pawns, and sending Dehaka to the entrance of the base to have a minimum of defense in case they attacked us, even so, take advantage of the moment and while it was being built I tried to level it up, as much as I could without putting in He endangered his life, since if he was killed he had to revive him using the peons as food.

image.png

My partner "Thewitcher" was Artanis, a duo. Although somewhat lacking in defenses we could hit the enemy's defenses thus destroying the fragments of the map, however time was running out and sooner or later the first two enemy waves appeared and even my Dehaka did not I was level enough to deal with them.

image.png

Here as you can see I chose the two offensive powers of Dehaka which made me feel more comfortable when using them.

The devour: it always has to be used with dehaka since it not only gives more life when you eat an enemy. It also gives you new abilities which can be used in combat, and in this any help was good.

image.png

More than once the protective shield of Artanis has saved me since the mutations are strong and at first my Dehaka has very little life.

image.png

The two waves of attack were arriving and I could not create units since I was more aware of Dehaka and leveling him up than supporting him with my pack, even so Artanis being a born summoner and tank (for some things) he supported me, with the JUMP skill of Mr. Dehaka I was able to fight against several enemies thus gaining an essential scene for the development of my character, in this way the enemy hero could not activate his mutations in units that he had already destroyed.
image.png
image.png

First Hero Raynor: ranged attack specialty, next to Zerg considerable threat.

After defeating him, I went to clean the other two bases in order to obtain more resources and then be able to destroy the fragment in front of me, however, it was not long before I had another wave of attack, but this time they were completely different heroes.

image.png
image.png

The primal twins Dehaka and his Brother, the tanks par excellence and as damage Tychus with his role as dps made a good combination, so much was the degree of difficulty and threat they represented at this point, that I had no choice but to summon a primal leader, thus wasting my only power so far.

image.png
image.png

With victory in my hands, I only had to clean my base.

Tactical attack surge.

Leading the attack Karax with her rapid tower building skills, and Nova with her nuclear attack having a cooldown (cd) of less than 1 minute.

image.png
image.png

I had to move fast and handle it as best I could by summoning one of my powers and with the help of Artanis we were able to defend my base without much major damage continuing on to the next group of Void Shards.

image.png

However, to my surprise, not only the heroic units of the campaign had that extra strength that they gave to the common units, but also the hybrids that with their great strength were enemies to have. However, one of its great disadvantages was DEHAKA. Well, with its appetite I devour every last one of them, thus giving it the essence it needs to develop.

image.png

We were about to destroy the first fragment of the second group of these, when an attack made up of Zagara came to our direction and it was only by Dehaka and his pack leader accompanied by the orbital attack of Artanis that we were able to destroy their forces and destroy the second group of splinters.

image.png
image.png

The third group of shards was present in the field and just before taking the initiative to attack, an attack wave made up of a very dangerous combination of heroes came right to our base.

image.png

Nova: with its tactical attack and its nuclear missiles
Raynor as a ranged attacker
And Kerrigan as a mele attacker (mele)
Along with Zerg units

image.png
image.png

We had to move fast (since we were in full attack and an attack wave just then would be damaging to our base if we left it uncovered). Thanks to a pack leader (tank) and Dehaka along with Artanis units, and their strong powers we were able to destroy this third group of shards. I was missing the last group of shards protected by a large hive, red hybrids and a strong base, while, I evolved my troops, and creating new ones. Artanis made his best invocations of what he had at hand and sooner rather than later we were able to get hold of these shards and send them into the void.

image.png
image.png
image.png

At this point Dehaka was low on life, and the only food nearby was a large Zerg leviathan that was guarding the last shard. This one had an ability on our normal units since every time one of them approached it, it would catch them with its large tentacles. Dehaka was low on life, but this wouldn't stop him. And with a voracious hunger Dehaka ate the leviathan, making him regain part of his strength, thus being able to destroy the last splinter and giving us victory.

image.png
image.png
image.png

I quite liked this map, not only because of the level of difficulty it has, but also because it involves the heroes of the campaign, and it shows the work and effort they had to create it. It has quite well deserved the first place of the MUTATION CREATION CONTEST.

I had a lot of fun doing this post and passing me this great map, I hope you liked it as much as I did. Thank you very much for reading me, see u in next game!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency