Almost ready for production -- reloading that is.

Almost have the new reloading station ready for action. Spent the day yesterday and today putting up shelves, pulling things out of storage/shipping boxes and arranging the new workbench and shelves.

Found almost everything I need, I know there are a couple boxes of .22-250 bullets stashed away in one of the ammo boxes. Found the primers, powder and everything else I need today.

Mounted the reloading press to the table. One of the mounting holes of course fell right under the metal support beam under this bench. Luckily, I had a one inch longer bolt handy, so now good to go!

PXL_20210912_180841294.jpg

Here is the RCBS "Charge Master" electronic scale powder measure (With my new Olight charging panel in the back). I made a separate post on this last year, it's a nice powder measure. It's above average in accuracy as far as these things go, and even smart enough to "auto-trickle" little grains of powder until it measures "just right". I found that the computer's idea of "just right" and my idea are sometimes off a bit. I still hand measure all my loads to within less than 1/10th of a grain to keep them consistent. I've found that the auto-measure (even this good one) will generally throw it's loads within 2-3 10ths of each other, but occasionally be an entire 1-2 grains off! So, I let the auto measure spit out the initial load, then hand-tweak each one.

PXL_20210912_180114344.jpg

The press is a single-stage RCBS "Rock Chucker" press that I've had for over 25 years. It still functions like new. I use it only for a few of my rifle loads, not for handguns.

PXL_20210912_194704727.jpg

I also use a manual hand primer rather than using the press itself, preferring the more sensitive feel and ability to keep them very consistent as well. The one I like best is made by Forster. I like the way I can start a primer, then place the cartridge in it and feel it consistently snug up against the cartrige wall. It has a tube that can auto-feed primers into it, but I don't like that either. I had a Lee Primer tool and didn't care for it at all.

PXL_20210912_194847595.jpg

PXL_20210912_180052036.jpg

I even found a little space just right for my Hornady Sonic cleaner on the other wall of the room (actually more like a big, wide hallway, but it works!)
I'm really excited to get some custom loads worked up for the .22-250 I picked up last year. Was not pleased with the accuracy from the factory ammunition and really hoping that the custom rounds will make a difference and get me to those 1/2 MOA groups I'm wanting to see from it.

PXL_20210912_175904271.jpg
Here's a couple other larger views of the room and bench the previous owner was nice enough to leave.

PXL_20210912_175817006.jpg

PXL_20210912_175825696.jpg
Don't worry, it won't stay this clean and organized for long, lol. LOTS more boxes to unpack!

PXL_20210912_175837279.jpg

Oh, and the really fantastic part is that by walking 10 steps through the next room, there is the walk-out basement door, and my shooting bench that sits nice and dry under the covered patio. I'll be updating my little personal range with targets soon and giving it a test run. I've got some hanging plates, just need some conduit to use for the legs. Maybe next weekend or the following for that project.
@ksteem

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency