2021 1oz Silver Australian Silver Swan Proof

Swans are such elegant, graceful creatures. When I saw one depicted on a coin, looking so serene, I was tempted to buy one. I'm a sucker for low-mintage, elegant designs, so this checked all the boxes and I bought it.

The box design is very clever! It has one small magnet at each corner, with an opposing magnet embedded in the box.

Obverse

Yes, this is technically the obverse of the coin, and the most uninteresting side. Moving on!

Reverse

Now this is a thing of beauty! While the designer could've chosen to go with an action shot, it would've been completely unnecessary. Less is more here.

The attention to detail even in the smaller feathers on the neck is great! I appreciate that they made the swan's reflection in the water distorted. I like that the water itself has a frosted effect, which adds nice contrast to the mirror proof background. In my opinion, it's these subtle details that make these coins so desirable.

Specifications
The coin came with a spec sheet, so I chose to be lazy here and provide a photo of it instead.

I paid $89 for this beauty. Considering it's a limited mintage of 2500 pieces and many people like this series, I'm not worried about it appreciating in value over time. In the meantime, it's a beautiful piece to have in the collection!


Do you like stacking gold and silver?

Are you new to Hive, or know someone new to Hive, and want help and support?

Have you been on Hive for a while and want to help new Hive members? Join HOC and help us grow Hive and encourage new members!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
34 Comments
Ecency