The Flourishing Hive - Logo Contest

#hiveimages and #hiveimagescontest I read a post on my feed yesterday which said one week left to enter the Hive image contest. I didn't give it much thought then as there were only three days left. Nonetheless the idea of the contest refused to get out of my head. I decided to take part in the contest. I had no clue how to quickly come up with a design for my submission but while I was in my garden inspiration hit me as it always does and here I am.

My idea was a living breathing Hive logo which symbolizes life and nature at its best. Being an avid gardener my thoughts never stray further from my garden. Besides what is crucial to bees building a Hive, flowers and plants of course!

I began with making a stencil of the Hive logo on a thick sheet sheet of paper. This would serve as my guide.

My initial idea was to cut out the logo on a tray of sedum. However, I tried it and found this idea was not working out to well for a number of reasons. I had to change my plan and create the logo on a thermocol board which has been used in my various other gardening projects.

With the board as my base and the stencil as my guide I poured some sand on to the board. to form the logo. A light spray of water was given to add to the stability of the design.

My next task was to arrange the sedum on the logo neatly. Getting the lines sharp and clear was my focus. I had to add small pieces of the sedum to achieve this effect. This golden moss sedum is best suited for projects like this and I always have a huge amount of these in my garden.

Once that was done I needed to clean the board to get a clean look.

However, I wasn't really happy with the look. The Hive logo is in red so I wanted to achieve that look. I had various plans in mind, but with the objective being a living, flourishing Hive I decided on using flowers.

I decided to take a leaf from the traditions and culture of India. In the state of Kerala (nick named God's own country) there is a festival called Onam, this is basically a harvest festival. While celebrating this festival people decorate the front yard of their homes with flowers arranged in beautiful patterns and colors. This is called pukallam.

I thought why not give Hive an Indian flavor with this flower logo so I ran with that idea and created a red logo as well.

I was fun to play around with the Hive logo. I enjoyed what I did I hope you do too.

I know many are worried about the plunge that the hive currency is taking. I have read a few posts mentioning their disappointment and sadness about how their investment has gone.

I decided to make this logo a living, flourishing design. I want to bring hope and cheer to all who feel this way. My message to everyone is - Hive will thrive and flourish, do not despair. Keep on posting, voting and commenting, do all you can to see our beloved Hive flourish.

I hope this season of joy brings good cheer to Hive and all Hiveans. Best wishes to every one, Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays most importantly Happy Hiving. Be like the bees, never tire of doing good.

If you are interested to take part in this contest please click here to read the post for more information.

If you have come this far, thank you for your time. Thanks everyone for your support, I so appreciate it.look

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments
Ecency