Splinterlands Social Media Challenge! Trying new Summoner - Owster Rotwell




Hello guys, this is my entry to the "Splinterlands Social Media Challenge!". If you want to participate or read more about the challenge, click here.

I have been looking for some new summoners to use in my battles. I found a nice card named Owster Rotwell. He is a rare "death" summoner that costs only 3 mana and comes with a nice ability named "magic reflect" which deals magic damage back to the striker.

There can be many strategies that go well with this summoner but it is most effective against heavy mages' attacks due to its magic reflect ability.

I will talk about my battle strategies but first, we will have a close look at its stats.



Owster Rotwell

THEME CARD
EDITION
DICE
RARITY
RARE
ELEMENT
DEATH
LEVEL
2
MANA COST
3 POINTS
ABILITIES
Magic Reflect

Owster Rotwell is a Rare summoner from the Dice edition. My summoner's level is 2 and it has the "magic reflect" ability that will deal some magic damage back to the attacker. This only comes with 3 mana.

I will be using it against players that I feel will be using mages for the battle. Many players use many mages in high mana cap battles. So, I can use it against them.

Let's see how I utilized it in my battle.



My Lineup

This is my lineup for the battle

Position
Summoner/Monsters
Abilities
Summoner
Owster Rotwell
Magic Reflect
Position 1
Giant Scorpion
No ability
Position 2
Shadow Snitch
Reach
Position 3
Silent Sha-Vi
Sneak
Position 4
Undead Badger
Sneak
Position 5
Death Elemental
Snipe




This was a standard battle with no modifications to the ruleset. It was a 21-mana cap battle so, not a whole lot to work around. I chose the Owster Rotwell as my summoner that gives "magic reflect" to all the friendly monsters. This ability will reflect the magic damage to the attacker.

In the first position, I placed the Giant Scorpion as my tank. It is not the strongest tank, rather it is much weaker to be called a tank. But I used this weaker tank to save more on my other attacking monsters. But still, it has 1 shield as armour. It would be nice if it had some ability of its own as well.

Next in the lineup was Shadow Snitch, another melee monster that comes with 5 health of its own and comes with a reach ability that allows it to attack even from the second position. It served as a secondary tank in this battle. And the "magic reflect" ability given by the summoner helped in dealing more damage to the opponents.

In the third position, I used the Silent Sha-Vi, another melee monster with great attacking strength. This is one of my favourite cards from the entire deck. This comes with Sneak ability and deals 2 melee damage with good speed and has good health as well. It has great overall stats and is always my preferred choice when I am using death splinter.

In the next position, I placed the Undead Badger, another melee attacker but costs only 2 mana and deals just 1 melee damage. It is a weak card and should be protected. That is the exact reason I placed it later in the lineup but not at the last. It also comes with sneak ability. I love this ability as it helps in surprising my opponent as most players use weaker cards at the back of the lineup and this ability attacks from the end of the lineup unlike from the front.

In the last position, I used the Death Elemental, the only mage in my lineup. It is one of the cheaper mages to use. It also comes with a snipe ability that allows it to target enemy monsters that are not in the first position. It works well with monsters with sneak ability. Helps in increasing the surprise factor in my battle.

Now, it was time for battle.



I will share my battle here, which I have uploaded to YouTube.



My Strategy

Owster Rotwell played a huge part in my strategy. I was preempting a heavy mage attack from my opponent (looking at their battle history). His magic reflect ability will be well-suited for strategies against mages.

Part of my strategy was to utilize my mana conservatively, I used a weaker tank at the first position and wanted to use a heavy melee attack. I also used the sneak and snipe abilities to my advantage and surprised my opponent with them. Overall, my strategy worked very well in this battle.



Round 1




I was happy to see my opponent used the Obsidian and a heavy mage attack. I was expecting that as well. Giant Scorpian being a low-health tank was quickly eliminated off the battlefield while all my monsters were focused on Mycelic Slipspawn. Other mages from their teams were also having low health due to damage taken because of the magic reflect ability given by my summoner.


Round 2




Round 2 was a great round for me. Mycelic Slipspawn who was looking strong at the first position was now much weaker and eventually died along with my Shadow Snitch who performed the role of a secondary tank very well. Now Khmer Princess also gets eliminated because of the magic attack dealt back to her. Silent Sha-vi also got eliminated by the end of this round.


Round 3




In the last round, it was the Goblin Psychic against my two monsters and both had better speed so it was a quick encounter and I got easy at the end. My strategy worked well in this battle.



Conclusion

Summoners are a very important part of Splinterlands. A good summoner will make any battle much easier. I found the Owster Rotwell a great addition to my deck. Although it works best for a specific case against magic attacks.

If you preempt a magic attack, you can use this summoner that gives the magic reflect ability and will make the magic attack worthless. I always struggled against magic attacks but this summoner will make me more confident against mages.

Let me know what are your thoughts about this card. Do you have any strategy that you implement against magic attacks?

Thanks for reading...



Splinterlands is a popular NFT-based play2earn game. If you have not joined the game yet, then you are missing a lot of fun. You can join by using my referal link.

Note:

| SPLINTERLANDS.COM | SPLINTERSHARDS (SPS) | BLOG | DISCORD | TELEGRAM |

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency