Splinterlands Social Media Challenge! Trying new Card - TIDE BITER




Hello guys, this is my entry to the "Splinterlands Social Media Challenge!". If you want to participate and or read more about the challenge, click here.

I am back with another card, the Tide Biter. He is one of the epic units from water splinter and came out in the "Reward" edition. I will be talking about the strategies and how we can utilize this card properly. We will see it in action as well.

Let's go and see the stats now.



TIDE BITER

THEME CARD
EDITION
REWARD
RARITY
EPIC
ELEMENT
WATER
LEVEL
1
MANA COST
3 POINTS
ATTACK
MELEE
ABILITIES
REACH

Looking at its stats, one thing that stands out is its speed. Having better speed will always give an advantage in battles especially when the card is used close to the front of the lineup.

Its reach ability makes it a perfect candidate for the second position in my lineup. Costing only 3 mana it can be used in multiple strategies and combinations with other cards. You can easily use it in low as well as high mana cap battles.

Due to its low cost, some players might feel that it lacks attacking ability but I would say that it has balanced stats that justify its cost.

You can't expect much defensive role from this unit but its high speed should help in dodging a few attacks from slower units. But yeah, this can be difficult to use as a secondary tank in your battles.

Let's see how I used it in my battle.



My Lineup

This is my lineup for the battle

Position
Summoner/Monsters
Abilities
Summoner
Keyla Frendul
+1 speed +1 shield
Position 1
Hardy Stonefish
No ability
Position 2
Tortisian Fighter
No ability
Position 3
Tide Biter
Reach
Position 4
Deeplurker
Opportunity
Position 5
Ice Pixie
Flying
Position 6
Angelic Mandarin
No ability




This was a standard battle with no modifications to the ruleset. It was a 23-mana cap battle so, not a lot to work around. I chose the Keyla Frendul as my summoner. It gave 1 shield and +1 speed to all my friendly monsters. Very useful for a melee-centric lineup.

I used the Hardy Stonefish in the first position, not for its attacking and defensive abilities but to soak up some extra hits at the front. It comes with a shield and costs just 1 mana and I wanted to be efficient with my allotted mana for this battle.

In the next position, I placed the Tortisian Fighter, which was another low-costing melee unit that deals 2 melee damage and also got its own shield. It doesn't come with any ability but proved to be a nice asset in this battle.

In the next place, I used the Tide Biter. I know that it doesn't start attacking from the third position, but I was not banking on Hardy Stonefish to survive for long and then this unit will become the second card and will attack from that position utilizing its ability named reach. It has nice speed and costs only 3 mana at level 1.

In the fourth position, came the Deeplurker, which is one of the fierce units that deals 3 melee damage and also has 6 health. It is one of my favourite units from the water splinter partly because of its opportunity ability that deals damage to the weakest monster in the enemy lineup. It is perfect for eliminating unit that has more attacking strength but relatively low health.

Next came the Ice Pixie, the only mage in this lineup. I could slide this in because of its low costs (only 2 mana). It comes with flying ability that should help in dodging more attacks.

Last but not least was the Angelic Mandarin, a ranged monster that has good health and helped immensely in this battle.

Now let's go to the battle video.



I will share my battle video here, which I have uploaded to YouTube.



My Strategy

My strategy was to utilize my mana effectively, that's the exact reason why I used two low costing cards at the front of my lineup.

Using Tide Biter and Deeplurker as my main attacking options was the main crux of my attack. I focused on using a heavy melee attack while adding extra shield and speed.



Round 1



My opponent used a heavy magic attack but doing it with only 23 mana in the bank was a riskier option. It started with my card at the front getting wiped out from battle and the extra shield could not save it because of a magic attack.

I had my doubt after this but it proved to be a better round for my team as my Deeplurker eliminated Goblin Psychic in one hit and now only two enemy units remain on the battlefield.


Round 2



Round 2 saw some nice back and forth between monsters my Tortisian Fighter couldn't take it anymore and get eliminated. It served my team well. Now it was in Tide Biter and deeplurker hands and later they managed to take down the mighty Unicorn Mustang.


Round 3 & 4



With only the Regal Peryton left in my opponent's camp, it was looking bad and we already knew the results of this match. Regal Peryton managed to take down my Tide Biter but right after that it was defeated and I got an easy win at the end.

I didn't realise it would be an easy win at the start of the match.



Final Thoughts

I played a few more games with Tide Biter at second and third place, sometimes even at the start of the lineup when I had very little mana to work with. But now I can say that it works well with mid-range mana battles.

Its reach allows it to attack even from the second position and its low cost makes it a useful asset in many situations.

You can experiment with your lineup a lot if you use it and this can be used effectively with melee-centric attacks and lineups.



Splinterlands is a popular NFT-based play2earn game. If you have not joined the game yet, then you are missing a lot of fun. You can join by using my referal link.

Note:

  • All the content is mine unless otherwise stated.
  • Text dividers are from freeztag.
  • The banner was created in Canva using splinterlands assets.

| SPLINTERLANDS.COM | SPLINTERSHARDS (SPS) | BLOG | DISCORD | TELEGRAM |

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency