Splinterlands Social Media Challenge! Trying new Card - LICHEN BEAST




Hello there, this is my entry to the "Splinterlands Social Media Challenge!". If you want to participate and or read more about the challenge, click here.

I will be testing a new card from the Riftwatchers Series. I have been away from them for some time and stuck with my old build but now I want to test some more cards and try different strategies. So in this quest, I rented out a few cards and here I will talk about one of the best cards I found for my taste, the LICHEN BEAST.



LICHEN BEAST

THEME CARD:
EDITIONRIFTWATCHER
RARITYCOMMON
ELEMENTEARTH
LEVEL3
MANA COST5 POINTS
ATTACKMELEE
ABILITIESENRAGED

By looking just at the stats, that's not bad at all. You get 8 health, which means that you can easily place it in the front as your primary tank and not necessarily need another unit to take up the beating.

Its offensive capabilities are not bad either, it strikes with 2 melee attack damage but has an interesting ability called enraged that allows it to gain extra damage output after it gets hits in the battle.

Overall, a pretty balanced stats. Now let's see how well it performs in an actual battle.




Battle 1


My Lineup

This is my lineup for the battle

PositionSummoner/MonstersAbilities
SummonerWizard of Eastwood-2 Shield
Position 1Lichen BeastEnraged
Position 2Chaos AgentNo ability
Position 3Venari AgentOpportunity
Position 4Goblin ThiefSneak
Position 5Khmer PrincessNo ability




This was a standard battle with no modifications to the ruleset. It was an 18-mana cap battle so, not a lot to work around. I chose the Wizard of Eastwood as my summoner. It gives the power to retract 2 shield points. Very useful for a melee-centric lineup.

I used the Lichen Beast as my tank. It works best only in the first position, especially in low to mid-range mana battles. Its enraged ability makes it a powerful striker as well with increased attack and speed it can change the fate of the battle on its own.

In the next position, I place the Chaos Agent, only to shield the next unit. Venari Agent is the next to come, it has opportunity ability that allows it to attack the weakest monsters in the enemy lineup.

Next came the Goblin Thief with its sneak ability allowing it to attack from this position as well. I was going for a melee-centric lineup, which was very useful in that regard.

At last, the Khmer Princess came with its magic damage and cost mere 2 mana.

Now the battle commenced.



I will share my battle here, which I have uploaded to YouTube.




Battle 2


My Lineup

This is my lineup for the battle

PositionSummoner/MonstersAbilities
SummonerWizard of Eastwood-2 Shield
Position 1Lichen BeastEnraged
Position 2Venari AgentOpportunity
Position 3Goblin PsychicTank Heal
Position 4Khmer PrincessNo ability
Position 5Goblin ThiefSneak




This was also a standard battle with no modifications to the ruleset. It was a 28-mana cap battle unlike the last one, I had more mana to play with. I chose the Wizard of Eastwood again as my summoner. It gives the power to retract 2 shield points.

Just like the last battle, I used Lichen Beast as my tank. In this battle as I had more mana so I went with a tank heal monster as well. That helped it to sustain more damage. Its enraged ability makes it a powerful striker as well with increased attack and speed it can change the fate of the battle on its own.

In the next position, I place the Venari Scout, Its opportunity ability helps in eliminating the weaker monsters fast.

Next, I used the Goblin Psychic, which is a heavy attacking mage that can hit with 2 magic attacks. Its tank heal ability will heal the tank after each round and give me more out of my tank for sure.

Next came the Khmer Princess came with its magic damage and cost mere 2 mana. This time I used more mages as I had more mana for this battle.

At last, the Goblin Thief came to help with some extra firepower. And a sneak ability means I can place it anywhere and still get the maximum out of it.

Now we were all set to battle.



I will share my battle here, which I have uploaded to YouTube.



Conclusion

I learn a few things by trying out this card, it can be used effectively in the first position as a tank. If you are having a little extra mana to play with, you can easily use another unit that can prolong the tank or use units that shields the tank.

You can use the Lichen Beast and come up with many compositions depending on your mana cost. It works well with mid-high mana battles. Its enraged ability will prove much more dangerous for my opponents.



Splinterlands is a popular NFT-based play2earn game. If you have not joined the game yet, then you are missing a lot of fun. You can join by using my referal link.

Note:

| SPLINTERLANDS.COM | SPLINTERSHARDS (SPS) | BLOG | DISCORD | TELEGRAM |

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency