Splinterlands Social Media Challenge! Trying new Card - GRANDMASTER RATHE




Hello guys, this is my entry to the "Splinterlands Social Media Challenge!". If you want to participate and/or read more about the challenge, click here.

We are at the start of a new season and what better way to start it than doing more experimentation and building new strategies? With this in mind, I went out looking at the rental market and my eyes caught this impressive summoner, it goes by the name of Grandmaster Rathe. I am sure, you have seen or perhaps used this card before.

It is a legendary life summoner and comes with a hefty price of 6 mana. Can it justifies this price, let's talk about its stats in detail.



Grandmaster Rathe

CARD
EDITION
CHAOS LEGION
RARITY
LEGENDARY
ELEMENT
LIFE
LEVEL
1
MANA COST
6 POINTS
ABILITIES
+1 Armor, Void, Amplify

Grandmaster Rathe is a legendary summoner that came with the Chaos Legion edition, it comes with 6 mana cost but gives some interesting buffs to all the units.

It gives +1 armor, Void and amplify ability to all the units. At this high price of 6 mana can it be a worthwhile addition to your deck? Let's find out and try to use it in a battle.

Now, let's talk about my lineup.



My Lineup

This is my lineup for the battle

Position
Summoner/Monsters
Abilities
Summoner
Grandmaster Rathe
+1 Armour, Void, Amplify
Position 1
Chaos Knight
Shield
Position 2
Uraeus
Sneak
Position 3
Spirit Hoarder
Triage
Position 4
Pelacor Arbalest
Double Strike
Position 5
Halfing Alchemist
Halving
Position 6
Djinn Renova
Strengthen




It was a 33-mana cap battle with the ruleset as "Standard". Ofcourse, I used the Grandmaster Rathe as my summoner, which gave all my monsters +1 shield along with Void and Amplify abilities. Higher mana cap allowed me to use it easily.

In the first position, I used the Chaos Knight as my tank. It comes with 3 armour of its own and has shield ability which reduces the damage taken from melee and ranged attackers. It is a powerful attacker as well and deals 3 melee damage with decent speed. So, having both defensive and offensive abilities it was a perfect choice for my tank here.

In the second position, I used the Uraeus which only costs 3 mana but added to the attacking strength of my lineup significantly. It comes with a sneak ability which attacks the last unit from the enemy lineup which most of the times are occupied with weaker monsters.

Next came the Spirit Hoarder, it was another low costing unit (only 3 mana) but provided with a magic damage. It comes with a unique ability called triage that can heal the friendly back-line monster who has taken the most damage. Healing is an important aspect of this battle.

Pelacor Arbalest came in the next position, it was a powerful ranged attacker who attacks twice per round because of its useful ability called double strike. Although it is relatively weaker in health, so I made sure not to put it at the ends of my lineup and give proper cushioning to it.

In the fifth position, another ranged attacker was placed who goes by the name of Halfing Alchemist. This is an interesting unit as it only costs 2 mana but comes with an armour of its own and an incredible useful ability halving. Each time it attacks a monster, that monsters' attacking strength is halfed automatically. This is very powerful ability against heavy hitters.

Last but not the least was Djinn Renova, another powerful mage that deals 2 magic attacks and comes with a unique ability called strengthen which increses the health of all friendly monsters. This was super useful in my case as I had some low health monsters to start with.

Now my lineup was all set and it was time for battle.



I will share my battle here, which I have uploaded to YouTube.



My Strategy

I had a simple strategy of using a powerful summoner with a strong tank at the front of the lineup that can take some hits easily while all my units at the back can do the bulk of hitting.

Spirit Hoarder and Djinn Renova complemented each other beautifully and held the fort for a long time.

I tried shielding my weaker units by placing them in the middle of the lineup and it worked perfectly in this case.



Conclusion

Grandmaster Rathe is an interesting summoner. It cost 6 mana but justifies this heavy cost by giving an extra armour, Void armour ability and the amplify ability to all the units. If you have enough mana to work around using this beast will not be a tough choice, especially in some rulesets.

The extra armour will provide good protection even to relatively weaker units just like it did in my battle above. What do you think about this summoner? Do tell me your thoughts about it in the comments.

Thanks for reading...



Splinterlands is a popular NFT-based play2earn game. If you have not joined the game yet, then you are missing a lot of fun. You can join by using my referal link.

Note:

| SPLINTERLANDS.COM | SPLINTERSHARDS (SPS) | BLOG | DISCORD | TELEGRAM |

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency