Splinterlands Social Media Challenge! Testing new Strategies with QUEEN OF CROWS




Hello guys, this is my entry to the "Splinterlands Social Media Challenge!". If you want to participate and/or read more about the challenge, click here.

We only have a few days left for this season to end and what better way to bid farewell to a season than to test some new strategies and cards? With this in mind, I went out looking at the rental market and my eyes caught this impressive unit, it goes by the name of Queen of Crows. I am sure, you have seen or perhaps used this card before. I have not used it as I generally stay away from fancy ranged attackers.

It is a rare death unit and comes with a hefty price of 9 mana. Can it justifies this high price, let's talk about its stats in detail.



Queen of Crows

CARD
EDITION
RIFTWATCHER
RARITY
RARE
ELEMENT
DEATH
LEVEL
2
MANA COST
9 POINTS
ABILITIES
Close Range

Queen of Crows is a rare unit that deals with ranged attacks, it comes with 9 mana cost but has some nice stats. It comes with the ability called close range, allowing it to attack even from the first position.

One of the reasons for my low affection towards the ranged attackers is that they can't attack from the first position, which has been taken care of here by close-range ability.

I used a level 2 unit which deals with 2 ranged attacks with 2-speed points and comes with a good amount of health (12 HP). Can it be a worthwhile addition to your deck? Let's find out and try to use it in a battle.

Now, let's talk about my lineup.



My Lineup

This is my lineup for the battle

Position
Summoner/Monsters
Abilities
Summoner
Thaddius Brood
-1 magic attack -1 health
Position 1
Queen of Crows
Close Range
Position 2
Riftwing
Flying, Scavenger
Position 3
Rune Crafter
Fury
Position 4
Ravenhood Warden
Protect
Position 5
Dhampir Stalker
True Strike
Position 6
Lira the Dark
Opportunity, Snare




It was a whopping 43-mana cap battle with some interesting rulesets. There were two rulesets:

  • Keep your Distance i.e., I cannot use the melee attackers
  • Counterspell - All monsters had the magic reflect ability, So... using magic was bad as well.

Both these left us pretty much with Ranged attackers and it was the perfect opportunity for my Queen of Crows. So, I used it in the first position, as it possesses the close range ability.


I used the Thaddius Brood as my summoner which removed 1 health point and 1 magic damage to all the enemy monsters.

In the first position, as stated above, I used Queen of Crows. It comes with good health and was a perfect candidate for my tank in this battle. Also, the high mana cap allowed me to use it without any worry.

In the next position, I used the Riftwing. It doesn't have any attacks but is a great unit that works as a secondary tank. It has great speed and a good amount of health. Also, its scavenger and flying abilities make it a lot tougher to defeat in high-range mana battles.

Rune Crafter came in the next position, it was another ranged attacker and dealt 2 range attacks with 2 speeds. It costs 8 mana but this unit came with 3 armour of its own and had the fury ability. Both these things can easily justify its high mana cost.

In the fourth position, I used the Ravenhood Warden, as excepted, it was another ranged attacker. But this one dealt only 1 ranged attack but came with a very useful ability called protect which gave all the friendly monsters 2 extra armour. Because of its low health, I had to place it somewhere between the lineup.

In the next position, I placed the Dhampir Stalker, it is a powerful attacker which deals with 3 ranged attacks and has quick speed and a good amount of health. It also comes with a true strike ability which means its attacks cannot miss.

In the last position, Lira the dark came with its 2 ranged attacks and good health. It has exceptional speed (6-speed points) and can dodge many attacks due to this. Also, it has an interesting ability called opportunity that attacks the weakest monster from the enemy lineup and disrupts the normal flow of attacks.

Now my lineup was all set and it was time for battle.



I will share my battle here, which I have uploaded to YouTube.



My Strategy

The rulesets allowed only the ranged monsters to be used. As if we use magic then we will be punished with the magic reflect damage and the melee attacks were off the fields.

So, I had a simple strategy of using a strong unit as a tank and Queen of Crows fits in this role perfectly.

Also, I made sure to give extra armour to all my units so I used a unit which granted me extra 2 armour because it had the protect ability.

Being 43 mana battle, I had the utmost freedom to choose my units and I used heavy ranged attacks for this battle.



Conclusion

Queen of Crows is an interesting unit. It cost 9 mana but justifies this heavy cost by providing a lot of attacking strength as well as defensive capabilities. It has the close range ability which makes it a great tank.

It deals with heavy-ranged attacks and can come in very handy in specific rulesets like the one I got in the above battle. It should be present in every player's deck as high mana battles are not that uncommon in higher leagues.

Thanks for reading...



Splinterlands is a popular NFT-based play2earn game. If you have not joined the game yet, then you are missing a lot of fun. You can join by using my referal link.

Note:

| SPLINTERLANDS.COM | SPLINTERSHARDS (SPS) | BLOG | DISCORD | TELEGRAM |

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency