SHARE YOUR BATTLE Weekly Challenge! RIVER NYMPH




Hello there, this is my entry to the "Share Your Battle Weekly Challenge!". If you want to participate, click here. You can participate even if you don't have the theme card.



RIVER NYMPH

THEME CARD:
EDITIONCHAOS LEGION
RARITYRARE
ELEMENTWATER
LEVEL1
MANA COST4 POINTS
ATTACKMAGIC
ABILITIESCleanse

River Nymph is a mage that deals low magic attacks but has 2 speeds and low health (3hp) but comes with a special ability called "cleanse" that removes all negative effects from the first monster in the lineup. It costs only 4 mana.

For a low-mid costing mage, it has decent stats, maybe the speeds could have been improved more but it is good enough. Let's see how I utilized it in my lineup.



My Lineup

This is my lineup for the battle

PositionSummoner/MonstersAbilities
SummonerKeyla Frendul+1 speed +1 shield
Position 1Cruel SethropodNo ability
Position 2Flying SquidReach
Position 3Hardy StonefishNo ability
Position 4Pelacor BanditSneak, Flying
Position 5River NymphCleanse


It was a 22-mana battle which was not too low and I like this range. I used the Keyla Frendul as my summoner which gave all my monsters an extra speed point and an extra shield point. This extra armour is why I went with this summoner. It was a standard battle with no modifications to the ruleset.

In the first position, I placed the Cruel Sethropod. I used this because I want to save up on mana to spend more on getting attacking power rather than going on for a beefy tank at the start and left with little mana to play with. Still, it comes with 3 shields on its own and has 4 hp as well. It stayed long enough in the battle.

Next came the Flying Squid, it has "reach" ability that allows it to attack even from the second position in the lineup. I always loved this card for its damage, speed and high hp. It has balanced stats and works both as a good defensive and attacking units at the same time. Mostly it can support the primary tank just in this case and work as a good secondary tank.

In the third position, I used Hardy Stonefish. I used it in this place just as a defensive unit, to absorb one or two attacks at most giving time to my other monsters to deal a good amount of damage. It only costs 1 mana for this. So, it was not a huge toll for this battle.

Pelacor Bandit came in the fourth position, as another melee-attacking monster, it has two more interesting abilities: sneak and flying. Flying allows it to have more dodging chances while "sneak" surprise the opponent and attacking from the end of the lineup rather than striking from the front. I like to use this card mainly for its "sneak" ability only as many low-health cards are generally placed at the end of the lineup in my league.

In the last position, I placed the River Nymph, it was the only mage in my lineup. Magic damage is better than melee and it can't miss its target, also, the armour is not an issue for magic damage. And it played a huge role in this battle.

Before we go to the Battle let me tell you my strategy for this battle.



My Strategy

My strategy was to use a cheaper card in the first position and supplement it with a good card at the next position that can play the role of a secondary tank and also have better-attacking potential. And I found Cruel Sethropod as my primary low-level tank and Flying Squid as a deadly beast in the second position.

I also wanted to add cards that can alter the normal attacking procedure and I found Pelacor Bandit that can attack from the end of the lineup and can be used as a surprise element in my battles.

This battle ended in the 9th round and was a tough battle to overcome. Let's watch how the actual battle unfolded.


I will share my battle here, which I have uploaded to YouTube.



Did your strategy work? What will you try differently next time?

Yes, my strategy worked here. It was a difficult battle to win but eventually, I got the win. In hindsight, I could better utilize my Hardy Stonefish in the upcoming battles or maybe I can rent some better 1 mana cards that can replace this one.

Do you like the RIVER NYMPH? Why or why not?

Yes, I love the River Nymph partly because it is a mage and deals with magic attacks and partly because of its "cleanse" ability that can remove any negative effects from my tank. This can be very useful in many compositions. There are many cards that can apply negative effects to our monsters and having this card is a blessing in that case.



Splinterlands is a popular NFT-based play2earn game. If you have not joined the game yet, then you are missing a lot of fun. You can join by using my referal link.

Note:

| SPLINTERLANDS.COM | SPLINTERSHARDS (SPS) | BLOG | DISCORD | TELEGRAM |

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency