SHARE YOUR BATTLE Weekly Challenge! GEM METEOR


Hello there, this is my entry to the "Share Your Battle Weekly Challenge!". If you want to participate, click here. You can participate even if you don't have the theme card.



GEM METEOR

THEME CARD:
EDITIONCHAOS
RARITYEPIC
ELEMENTNEUTRAL
LEVEL1
MANA COST5 POINTS
ATTACKRANGE
ABILITIESSCATTERSHOTS

Gem Meteor is a powerful epic monster that can deal with 1-range attacks with great speed (+4 speed here) and comes with a decent health of 5hp at level 1. But it costs 5 mana too and due to its cost, it could be difficult to use in low-mana battles. Due to its *scattershots ability it will hit a random enemy monster.

The best position for this card is preferably at the end of the lineup as it won't be able to attack at the front of the lineup in normal conditions.

That's exactly how I used it in my battle as well.



My Lineup

This is my lineup for the battle

PositionSummoner/MonstersAbilities
SummonerMylor CrowlingThorns
Position 1BiceratopsNo ability
Position 2Regal PerytonFlying
Position 3Goblin ThiefSneak
Position 4Venari ScoutOpportunity
Position 5Gem MeteorScattershots




It was a 24-man battle and I chose Mylor Crowling as my summoner. It is one of my favourite summoners in the entire game. It gives all my monster thorns ability that is very useful in battles, especially against heavy melee attacks. It was a standard battle with no modifications to the ruleset.

I chose my lineup with a lower-costing tank in the form of Biceratops. It had only 4 hp and a shield but combining that with Mylor's thorns it was not a bad choice for my tank. I wanted to save up for an extra bit of firepower.

In the second position, I placed the Regal Peryton. It was the only mage in my lineup. It comes with a flying ability and has 5 speeds on its own, both these factors made it very difficult to attack. There were so many missed attacks on this unit during the battle. It also has decent health and can perform well as a secondary tank as well just like in this battle as you will see later.

In the next position, came the Goblin Thief, a powerful and sneaky striker that attacks from the end of the lineup and is a good surprise factor as many weaker monsters are placed at the end of the lineup.

Next came the Venari Scout, another surprise element that attacks the weakest monster from the enemy lineup and it cost only a few mana as well. Opportunity and sneak ability complement each other very well and often prove to be a deciding factor in my battles.

In the last position, I placed the Gem Meteor. It was no surprise as this was the only range monster in my lineup. Its great speed and health make it a great card and the fact that it is a neutral unit allows it to be used in many combinations. Let's see how they performed in the battle. But first, let's talk about my strategy.



My Strategy

My strategy was simple for this battle, use a cheaper unit at the front and supplement it with a good unit at the second position that can work as a good secondary tank. Regal Peryton proved to be a great candidate for that. As it has 6 hp and comes with flying ability and great speed. This made it into an excellent tank as well.

The second part of the strategy was focused more on attacking rather than defence. As we say, the offence is the best defence...ayye? I used Goblin Thief and Venari Scout to give a small surprise to my opponent as they attack weaker cards from the end of the lineup. And the extra firepower of Gem Meteor helped as well.



I will share my battle here, which I have uploaded to YouTube.



ROUND 1



My opponent used a heavy sniping attack by going with 4 range monsters. It was a gamble all along. But round 1 saw a good back and forth. The opponent had a much better tank in the form of Chaos Knight while my Biceraptops was struggling and soon got eliminated. By the end of the battle, another unit had fallen but it was from my enemy team. This round looked like a balanced one to me.


ROUND 2



It was a disaster for my opponent, Regal Peryton was dodging so many attacks while my monsters at the back were constantly firing. Chaos Knight still held the fort but now their snipers at the back were taking a huge beating. By the end of the round, it looked like an easy win for me. But I still had to win the battle.


ROUND 3 & 4



These rounds were brutal for my opponent. While my Regal Peryton was getting missed one after the other but my monsters were doing their job effectively and soon eliminated the monsters from the back. The only one still left was the original tank, the Chaos Knight. It survived till this round because of its heavy shied and good health. But it was all in vain as 1 against 4 was way too much to ask and soon it got eliminated as well. And I tasted the sweet taste of victory.



Did your strategy work? What will you try differently next time?

Yes, my strategy worked well in this battle. Regal Peryton played a great role of the secondary tank while Gem meteor and others chipped away at the enemy lineup slowly.

Do you like the Gem Meteor? Why or why not?

Yes, I like the Gem Meteor partly because it is a neutral card and can be used with any splinter and partly because of its good speed and health. However, I am not a fan of its scattershots ability. It's not predictable and can give you a hard time sometimes. But overall a good card to use, especially in mid-high mana cap battles.



Splinterlands is a popular NFT-based play2earn game. If you have not joined the game yet, then you are missing a lot of fun. You can join by using my referal link.

Note:

| SPLINTERLANDS.COM | SPLINTERSHARDS (SPS) | BLOG | DISCORD | TELEGRAM |

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency