SHARE YOUR BATTLE Weekly Challenge! DRAGONS - NAGA ASSASSIN




Hello there, this is my entry to the "Share Your Battle Weekly Challenge!". If you want to participate or know more about the challenge, click here. You can participate even if you don't have the theme card.



NAGA ASSASSIN

THEME CARD:
EDITIONREWARD
RARITYRARE
ELEMENTDRAGON
LEVEL1
MANA COST6 POINTS
ATTACKRANGED
ABILITIESBACKFIRE at LEVEL 4

Naga Assassin is a rare dragon unit that is part of the "reward" edition. It is one of the cheaper ranged attacking units costing only 2 mana but attacks with incredibly quick speed (5). Although it doesn't come with any ability at lower levels. Also, it is very susceptible to damage due to its low health of only 2 hp at lower levels.

Naturally, I want this to be placed at the last of the lineup. Let's see where I placed it in my battle.



My Lineup

This is my lineup for the battle

PositionSummoner/MonstersAbilities
SummonerDrake of Arnak+1 Armour
Position 1Unicorn MustangVoid
Position 2Goblin ThiefSneak
Position 3Venari ScoutOpportunity
Position 4Goblin PsychicTank Heal
Position 5Naga AssassinNo ability
Position 6Child of the ForestSnipe




I used the Drake of Arnak as my summoner which gave all the friendly units an extra shield. This was a standard battle with no modification to the ruleset. It was a 30-mana cap battle that gave me all the freedom I enjoy while I choose my lineup.

I used the Unicorn Mustang as my tank. It has great attacking and defensive strengths. It does 3 melee attacks with good speed and comes with a large amount of Hp as well. Its void ability makes it a perfect tank against heavy magic attacks. I was expecting heavy magic attacks as it was a 30-mana cap battle.

Goblin Thief came in the second position in my lineup. It does a good amount of melee damage and comes with my favourite sneak ability that attacks the last monster on the enemy lineup. This ability helps in surprising players who usually put weaker but more attacking cards at the back of their lineup.

In the third position, I used the Venari Scout, another melee attacker with an interesting ability named opportunity that strikers the weakest monster from the enemy lineup. This ability complements the sneak ability beautifully and helps add the surprise factor to my battle.

Next came the Goblin Psychic, the only mage in my lineup that deals with 2 magic attacks and has low health (3 hp) but its tank heal ability can change the fate of the battle easily. It recharges health to my monster at the first position after each round. This is a very useful ability that works well with a beefy tank like the one I used in this battle.

In fifth place, came the Naga Assassin which has a quick speed of 5 but costs just 2 mana and is a low-health unit as well. But it doesn't come with any ability at lower levels.

Last but not least was Child of the Forest, another ranged monster that cost me 3 mana but has very similar stats like Naga Assassin and a snipe ability that attacks raged, magic or no attacking monster placed after the start of the lineup.

My lineup was all set, I utilized my 30 mana. It is time to discuss my strategy in this battle.



My Strategy

I was thinking that my opponent will probably use a heavy magic attack as it was a 30-mana cap battle and most players at lower levels go for magic attacks when they get a chance like this. So, I was prepared for this.

I used the Unicorn Mustang as my tank that takes reduced damage from the magic attack and used Goblin Psychic whose tank heal ability will help that tank to survive for long while all the monsters from the back will eliminate the enemy monsters slowly.

I used sneak and opportunity abilities to surprise my opponent as some of the lower-health monsters are placed at the end of the lineup. Let's see how well my plans worked out in this battle.


I will share my battle here, which I have uploaded to YouTube.



ROUND 1




As I expected my opponent went for a heavy magic attack but they used Venari Knifer and Mycelic Slipspawn as their tank. Both of these heavy units provided enough cushion in the first round. My Unicorn Mustang also soaked in the heavy attack which came my way in this round.

This round saw no causalities and we move on to the next round with much weaker tanks.


ROUND 2



Round 2 was a moving round and a decisive one I should say. It saw the demise of both Mycleic Slipswan and Venari Knifer while my Unicorn Mustang also got eliminated in this round.

I was happy to see two beefy units get out of the battle on the enemy lineup. My Goblin Psychic was doing his job brilliantly and helped my tank to survive for a long.


ROUND 3 & 4



Goblin Thief got eliminated at the start of round 3 and it looked like a close battle at this point. We both had 3 monsters at each side but my ranged attackers had the speed advantage, they had 5 speeds and this first hitting advantage at the start of round 4 made all the difference.

Naga Assassin and Child of the Forest with their great speeds changed the fate of this game in the very last round.




Did your strategy work? What will you try differently next time?

Yes, my strategy of using weaker but faster-ranged monsters like Naga Assassin and Child of the Forest worked, while my tank, Unicorn Mustang held the fort and took the heavy beating at the start of the battle. It was a close encounter but what I thought happened in this battle.

Do you like the Naga Assassin? Why or why not?

Yes, I like the Naga Assassin, it costs just 2 mana so, it can be used in multiple compositions. Also, its fast speed makes it a worthwhile unit on the battlefield just like in my above battle where the first-hitting advantage proved to be a decisive one.



Splinterlands is a popular NFT-based play2earn game. If you have not joined the game yet, then you are missing a lot of fun. You can join by using my referal link.

Note:

| SPLINTERLANDS.COM | SPLINTERSHARDS (SPS) | BLOG | DISCORD | TELEGRAM |

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency