BATTLE MAGE SECRET Weekly Challenge! AIMLESS




Hello there, this is my entry to the new "Battle Mage Secret Weekly Challenge!". If you want to participate or know more about the challenge, click here. There are still a few days left to enter this challenge.



RULESET: AIMLESS

With the Aimless ruleset all monsters receive the scattershot ability.

I am not a huge fan of Scattershot ability but it comes in handy especially when you have a stronger tank in the first position.


After battling for some time, I got the Aimless ruleset. But I just had the fire and death splinters available to me. Now let's focus on my lineup and see how I tried to utilize these during a battle.



My Lineup

This is my lineup for the battle

PositionSummoner/MonstersAbilities
SummonerThaddius Brood+1 magic, -1 health
Position 1Corpse FiendNo ability
Position 2Djinn MuiratVoid Armor, Knock Out
Position 3Life SapperLife Leech
Position 4Venari BonesmithLife Leech
Position 5Ravenhood WardenProtect




This was just a 24-mana battle. And I had to utilize every drop of that carefully. Let me remind you that the battle had a ruleset:

  • AIMLESS - All monsters have the scattershot ability.

I like little choice for which splinter to choose but I went with Death splinter for this and chose the Thaddius Brood as my summoner which removed 1 magic damage and 1 health point. I was expecting my opponent to use magic attackers against me and I was prepared to tackle that.

In the first position, I used the Corpse Fiend. It is a zero mana cost unit and can come in handy, especially with soaking a couple of hits early in the game. I didn't expect much from it because of its very low health and speed. Also, it didn't come with any abilities.

In the next position, I placed the Djinn Muirat as my main defence. It is one of the most powerful tanks in the game. Its 4-armour and 7-health make it a great absorber of attacks while its Void Armor ability reduces the impact of magic attacks. It excels in attacking potential as well, dealing 2 magic damage it was the most powerful attacker in my lineup. However, 9 mana cost is not cheap as well.

Life Sapper came in the next position, it also dealt magic attacks and you can see that I went with heavy magic attacks in this battle. With just 2 health it should be carefully placed and should not be exposed at the ends of the lineup. But due to its Life Leech ability, this low health can very well increase to become a huge nuisance as the battle progresses.

Next came the Venari Bonesmith, another mage who dealt 1 magic damage. It is very similar to the last card in my lineup as it also comes with the Life Sapper ability. However, it cost one more mana with the advantage of having slightly better health to start with.

In the last position, I placed the Ravenhood Warden. It was the only ranged attacker in my lineup that dealt 1 ranged attack. But the main reason for including this in my lineup is its protect ability which gives 2 extra armour to all my monsters. Most of my units had low health and I wanted to give them extra protection.

Let's talk about my strategy for this game.



My Strategy

Because I had 24 mana to spare, I decided to use a strong tank with both attacking and defensive potential, and the Djinn Muirat fit that role perfectly. My focus was to use magic damage even if I knew that I can't fully control my attacks with them having the scattershot abilities.

While most of my monsters had relatively lower health so I had to give them some extra protection and that's exactly the reason for using Ravenhood Warden which gave extra 2 armour to all my monsters.

Although I am not a big fan of scattershot ability but having it rarely is disadvantageous and if you plan well you can use it to your advantage as well.


I will share my battle here, which I have uploaded to YouTube. Battle Link



Did my strategy work? What will I try differently next time?

It worked very well. The decision to give extra protection in the form of armour proved to be a good one. Although it was a close fight but my strong tank Djinn Muirat along with others helped me achieve a nice victory. The addition of Ravenhood Warden with its protect ability helped immensely throughout this battle. Without that, it would have been much harder to win. Also, the scattershot ability helped in this case as it eliminated some weaker enemy units early in the battle.



Splinterlands is a popular NFT-based play2earn game. If you have not joined the game yet, then you are missing a lot of fun. You can join by using my referal link.

Note:

| SPLINTERLANDS.COM | SPLINTERSHARDS (SPS) | BLOG | DISCORD | TELEGRAM |

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency