SHARE YOUR BATTLE Weekly Challenge! ANT MINERS


Every week there is a Splinterlands challenge to share a battle and on this week's post it is the Ant Miners card. I also encourage Splinterlands players to partake in the challenge because you get to try different strategies and earn some crypto in the process.

Featured Monster: Ant Miners

ant miners.png

Ant Miners is a firesplinter card. It has scavenger from the start and learns shield when it reaches level 6. Unfortunately it doesn't have much health or attack but depending on how many cards die before it, it can become a decent tank.

I don't use this card much because I don't have it leveled up and it can't attack from my backline. However I do think it's low mana cost makes it an effective card to place in battle. If I had mine around level 6, then I probably would not mine using it. However my current ant miner is level 3.

Rule set, Battle and Plan

rule set.png

The rule set this time is reverse speed and heavy hitters. The reverse speed battles tends to confuse me a bit since I am so use to using high speed monsters. However this time I have access to fire, death and dragon splinters. I obviously choose fire and there is 34 mana available for me to choose cards from

summoner.png

The summoner I choose to use this time is Yodin Zaku. With the rise in prices for cards in Splinterlands, this card is now worth over $500. When I first started, I decided to purchase some untamed packs and opened them up to receive this. Now this card alone is worth more than what I spent on buying the packs so it definitely seems worth it. It's ability has +1 ranged attack, +1 health and the blast ability for all of my monsters.

Given this is a reverse speed match, I didn't want to use Pyre and taking advantage of the blast ability is more likely to make me win the match. So my plan is to focus on damage and kill off my opponent as fast as I can. The blast ability combined with snipe monsters will do quite a bit of damage and if my ant miners doesn't die early, it can tank a few hits for me to win.

Round 1

9-6 round 1.png

For the first time in a while, I am glad that my opponent has higher level cards then me. This means I can definitely attack before him and it should increase my chances of winning. Also it looks like my snipe will be able to spread out damage and hit 3 targets with his current line up.

Round 2

9-6 round 2.png

My ant miner now has 5 health and both of us have lost 1 card each. However I think I have the advantage since his monsters now have low health and both my living lava plus ant miner is untouched. Like last round, my cards will attack first in the reverse speed lineup so I will be able to do damage before he hits me.

9-6 conclusion.png

I wasn't expecting it but I finished everything off in the 2nd turn without taking any more damage. On top of that, my any miner has 10 health at the end of the battle. I guess using the reverse speed rule set definitely helped me quite a bit in this match.

Conclusion

The battle went as I expected and I was able to deal damage faster than my opponent could do on me. It's a bit unfortunate that I was not able to use Ant Miner as a tank like I intended but I guess using the rule sets to my advantage definitely helped out. It definitely was a good thing that I wiped out his Cerberus before he could attack and heal.

One of the factors leading to my win definitely had to be Yodin Zaku. My ranged monsters were definitely able to dish out damage and the snipe ability did wonders to lower down his blast monster's health. As this was a reverse speed match, I fully expected to see Sandworm so I put a high health monster at the end of my lineup. I wanted the snipe monsters to live a bit longer and dish out blast damage in the middle of my opponent's line up.

As for my opponent's lineup, I think he used a bit too much mana on that sandworm. Since he is using Malric, I think he could of definitely included some more low speed melee monsters and deal more damage overall. The blast monsters themselves are nice but their damage isn't boosted by the summoner effect. It seemed more like my opponent was spreading out his damage too much and focusing would of been better.

You can see my entire match here.

What did you think of my match? Was there anything you would of done differently? I think it is quite interesting to see how different players use the same card.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency