Leaves on top 🧶 Fruit to hang below for easy picking

What's a lattice?

You all saw my DIY hydroponic garden on a ledge, but what to do with the tomatoes and squash? They can need to climb.

I had the idea to get a lattice in order to keep the tomato plants and fruit high above the lettuce and spinach plants. That way all the plants will get sun and picking the fruit will be much easier, as long as my lattice is horizontal.

I went out shopping for one but I did not find any that were flexible and strong. So instead of buying what I wanted, I pulled the idea out of my head and took a ball of packing string and tied my own.

PXL_20210824_154616799 (1).jpg

I have not clipped off the strings on the edges yet. I may need to add another loop to hook into for supporting it later. For now, I have six hooks lines that are adjustable to support it and I hung some weight off the balcony to keep the lattice suspended over the pots.

PXL_20210822_154056415.PORTRAIT-02.ORIGINAL (1).jpg

I transplanted nine tomato plants and only two survived. They do not like having their roots disturbed. Conversely, I had planted clippings from healthy tomato plants and they always survive.

beachfooter.jpeg

The biggest and healthiest tomato plants did not get transplanted. I took apart the old hydroponic system and simply moved their pot upward and screwed in into the shelving. That is one planter that I still have to remember to water.

2tomatoes.jpeg

I could actually perforate the tubing that runs above the pot, but that would leave a leaky connection pipe next year when I can have all the plants living in the white pots.

These two are the ones that I trim to cut and propagate plants, as you can tell from the missing lower branches. This appended planter will not be here by mid summer or at the very latest, harvest time.

As for the lattice, I am anxiously waiting for the smaller tomatoes to grow taller so I can start to raise the net-lattice up and out of my way. I have to duck under it when planting new seedlings. Most of the space is taken up but I am missing cucumbers - slow germination time.

Thank you all for following the build of this DIY project it has exceeded my expectations. The pump cycles nutrient rich water every twelve hours and the deep roots always have what they need. Top soil is moist at night, dry in the day time sun. As planned!


Related Posts
Hydroponic System - Part One
Hydroponic System - Part Two
Hydroponic System - Part Three
Hydroponic System - Finishing touches

spbobFooter.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency