Papilio cresphontes - Giant Kite Butterfly/ My participation in Insects Of The World - INSECT CONTEST - June 2021 - #03

Hello community!


Hello hello! my beautiful community of Insects of the World, I had a week without participating in a contest of this great community because I was very busy with high school assignments and had to deliver them today, so now I am free of homework, and I can return to publish daily amazing post that you all will love very much.

Hola hola! mi comunidad hermosa de Insectos del Mundo, tenía una semana sin participar en un concurso de esta gran comunidad ya que estaba muy ocupado con las tareas del liceo y debía entregarlas hoy, así que ya estoy libre de tareas, y puedo volver a publicar diariamente increíbles post que les encantaran mucho a todos ustedes.

2.png


Well today I send greetings to my friend @adalger and I wish him a Happy day and God Bless him at all times. And if you are wondering what this post is for, well this post is my entry to the wonderful contest sponsored and made by @adalger and these contests I consider them as very motivating that make you want to participate and feel that adrenaline while you take pictures of insects, but imagine the ones that fly, even more difficult will be to take a picture without them flying away, but well I congratulate those who work to take those amazing pictures of insects. Sometimes we wait for a while in a place without moving or rather we get closer little by little so as not to scare the insect away and take that picture.

Bueno hoy le mando un saludito a mi amigo @adalger y le deseo que tenga un Feliz día y que Dios lo Bendiga en todo momento. Y si se preguntan para que es esta publicación, pues este post es mi entrada al maravilloso concurso patrocinado y hecho por @adalger y estos concursos yo los considero como muy motivadores que te hacen querer participar y sentir esa adrenalina mientras le tiras las fotos a los insectos, pero imagínense a los que vuelan, aún más difícil será tomarle una foto sin que se nos vayan a ir, pero bueno los felicito aquellos que trabajan por sacar esa increíbles fotos de insectos. Algunas veces esperamos rato en un lugar sin movernos o más bien nos acercamos poco a poco para no espantar a ese insecto y tomarle esa foto.


Well today in the morning as soon as the sun was rising and some clouds were covering half of it, I went to the patio of my house to see some small morrocoyes that I have in a mini terrarium that I made with the help of my family and well when I see that they are fine I go back and I get closer to where there is a bush of cambur and I see a butterfly which scares me a little bit because for the first time I see it so close and it was not even scared with me but I was, It's as if the roles were reversed, instead of the butterfly getting scared, I got scared, and I don't know why hahaha.

Bueno hoy en la mañana apenas el sol salía y algunas nubes lo cubrían por la mitad, fui al patio de mi casa para ver a unos morrocoyes pequeños que tengo como en un mini terrario que hice con ayuda de mi familia y bueno cuando veo que están bien me regreso y me acerco a donde queda una mata de cambur y veo como una mariposa el cual me asusto un poquito porque primeras vez lo veo tan cerca y ni siquiera se asustó conmigo pero yo si, es como si se hubiesen invertidos los papeles, en vez de la mariposa asustarse, me asusté yo, y no se por qué jajaja.

5.png


And after the scare I look at it carefully and I realize that this butterfly is very beautiful and I run to get my phone to take some pictures, and I thank God for letting me take pictures from several angles to that butterfly and that it didn't fly away, after taking all the pictures I needed, well it's like, it's ready and the butterfly left by itself and I gave it a See you soon, and someday I would like to see it again, who knows right?

Y luego de pasar el susto la veo detenidamente y me doy cuenta que es muy hermosa esta mariposa y salgo corriendo a buscar mi teléfono para tirarle una fotos, y le doy gracias a Dios por dejarme tirarles una fotos desde varios ángulos a esa mariposa y que no se fuera volando, después de tirarles todas las fotos que necesitaba bueno es como si ya, está listo y la mariposa se fue por si sola y yo le di un Hasta pronto, y algún día quisiera volverla a ver, quien sabe verdad?

1.png


Well let's start by telling you the scientific name of this butterfly and I will explain everything I know about it.

Bueno empecemos diciéndoles el nombre científico de esta mariposa y les explicaré todo lo que se sobre ella.


Papilio cresphontes, this species of butterfly comes from the large family Papilionidae, which are large and their colors are quite bright and striking. The butterfly is known in my country as Giant Kite and is usually found in North America and South America, it can only be seen in Colombia and Venezuela. However, in countries such as the United States and Canada, Papilio cresphontes butterflies are usually found in the south and east.

Papilio cresphontes, esta especie de mariposas viene de la gran familia Papilionidae, las cuales son grandes y sus colores son bastantes resaltantes y llamativos. La mariposa se le conoce en mi país como Cometa Gigante y suele encontrarse en Norteamérica y en Sudamérica, solo se puede ver en Colombia y Venezuela. Sin embargo los países como Estados Unidos y Canadá las mariposas Papilio cresphontes suelen estar en el sur y en el este.

4.png


Apparently when they are in the adult stage, their wings usually reach 10 to 16 cm in length, this for me was something incredible since in my hand it is a very large butterfly. The wings of the butterfly from far away look like a brown color but if we get closer you can see that they have rather a dark brown color and with some yellow ovals that go from corner to corner of the two wings, as you will notice that at the end of its wings have like two yellow eyes, but the truth is not eyes, but it is only as a camouflage for its predator to be scared and believe that it is something else.

Por lo visto cuando están en la fase adulta, sus alas suelen llegar a medir de 10 a 16 cm de longitud, esto para mí fue algo increíble ya que en mi mano es una mariposa muy grande. Las alas de la mariposa de lejos se ven como de un color marrón pero si nos acercamos más se puede ver que tienen más bien un color marrón oscuro y con unos óvalos amarillos que van de esquina a esquina de las dos alas, como se darán cuenta que al final de sus alas tienen como dos ojos amarillos, pero la verdad no son ojos, sino que solamente es como un camuflaje para que su depredador se asuste y crea que es otra cosa más.

6.png


This butterfly before being a butterfly is a caterpillar which has a great resemblance to the excrement of a bird which serves as camouflage, but if this camouflage would not serve for anything it would use its incredible horns which it takes out when it is in great danger and emit a totally unpleasant odor, which you will not like to smell. I assure you!

Esta mariposa antes de ser mariposa es una oruga la cual tienen una gran semejanza al excremento de un ave lo cual le sirve para camuflaje, pero si ese camuflaje no le llegara a servir para nada usaría sus increíbles cuernos lo cuales saca cuando está en gran peligro y emiten un olor totalmente desagradable, el cual no les gustará oler. Se lo aseguro!!


To finish and explain a little bit about the life cycle of this butterfly, we can see that the butterfly lays her eggs individually on each plant that she thinks is safe for her newly hatched egg. After hatching the little caterpillar and grow to an estimated size of 5.1 cm, when the chrysalis process occurs it usually lasts 10 to 12 days to become this beautiful butterfly.

Ya para terminar y explicarles un poquito del ciclo de vida de esta mariposa, podemos ver que la mariposa pone los huevos de una forma individual en cada planta que ella crea segura para su recién nacido huevo. Luego de nacer la pequeña oruga y crecen a un tamaño estimado de 5.1 cm, cuando ocurre el proceso de crisálida suele durar de 10 a 12 días para poder convertirse en esta hermosa mariposa.

3.png


Interesting fact: These butterflies usually fly more from late May to August, the females fly flapping their wings in a way of a stopped way and get to travel long distances, instead the male by having very small wings and flapping many wings makes very short journeys.

Dato interesante: Estas mariposas suelen volar más desde finales de mayo hasta el mes de agosto, las hembras vuelan aleteando las alas de una manera de una manera detenida y llegan a recorrer grandes distancias, en cambio el macho por tener alas muy pequeñas y al agitar muchos las alas hace recorridos muy cortos.

7.png


I hope you liked my brief explanation of this butterfly that I found this morning, and I leave you some photos that I took with the butterfly in my hand, which was very difficult to do because it did not leave, until I approached my hand slowly and well the butterfly was mounted on my fingers, I hope you like it. Greetings, and have a great afternoon of much joy.

Espero les haya gustado mi breve explicación de esta mariposa que me encontré esta mañana, y les dejo algunas fotos que me tire con la mariposa en la mano, lo cual fue muy difícil de hacer ya que no se dejaba, hasta que acerque mi mano lentamente y bueno la mariposa se montó a mis dedos, espero os guste. Saludos, y que tengas una gran tarde de mucha alegría.


9.png

8.png

12.png

10.png

11.png

If you want to know much more about this beautiful butterfly I invite you to visit this page which helped me to know much more about this butterfly: Papilio cresphontes

Camera Details:

Samsung Galaxy J7

natural light

All images and photographs I upload, unless I specify otherwise, are made and owned by me. @josueprime highly original content.

final.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency