Some Insects from Today

Went for a little hike today with my macro lens. The birds are quieting down, migration is over until August and the nesting season is upon us. I even left my binoculars at home (shocking!) This is truly the start of 'bugging' season (for me at least).
Here are some of the beasties I came across.

I'm thinking this is a Red-necked Cane Borer Beetle (Agrilus ruficollis). It has a nice metallic sheen like many other borers:
beetle5.jpg

beetle5a.jpg
Some sort of gray flat-faced long-horned beetle...unsure of genus.
beetle3.jpg
Found out this was a Sumac Stem-borer Beetle (Orberea ocellata), a lifer for me.
beetle4.jpg
I love jumping spiders and they usually are obliging enough for photos. I'm not sure about this one, Phidippus or Paraphidippus...
jumper1.jpg

An Asian Oak Weevil (Cyrtepistomus castaneus):
weevil.jpg

Lots of these small Dioctria robber flies were out. I didn't see any of the bigger ones that look like bumble bees. I think they come out towards the middle-late summer.
robber.jpg

Happy hunting!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency