Insects of the World | Spined soldier bug "Podisus maculiventris" | Contest Participation #4

Hello everyone, hope you all are well. As we know introducing the same insect again and again in the community will be boring. So, I go out in fields and look for an insect that is rarely introduced in the community. I took out my photography equipment and it's almost 6 PM and sunset time. I know insect hunting is generally done in the morning time but there's a need to go to my village and I decide to take my camera equipment with me. The light is a little low and hard to find an insect and capture it but somehow I found this insect and it allows me to take photographs. It jumps sometimes but luckily I found it again. So, I am here again to share beautiful macro insect photography with all of you. These macros of a Spined soldier bug were taken with my Smart camera by attaching an external macro lens to it. It's a participation post for the ongoing contest of May#04 by @adalger.

This Spined soldier bug belongs to the well-known species Podisus maculiventris

A little Introduction to the Spined soldier bug

Adult spined soldier bugs are 8.5-13 mm long and golden brown to tan in color. They have a shield-like shape with pronounced spikes on the "shoulders," just behind the head. Adult spined soldier bugs have a unique dark line on the spongy tip of each wing that can form one dark streak when the wingtips meet, unlike pest species that may appear similar.

SAM_5098.jpg

Damage, Ecosystem, and Food Source(s):
Many types of caterpillars and grubs serve as prey, particularly those with little hairs. They have been observed feeding on fall armyworm and Colorado potato beetle larvae.

SAM_5091.jpg

Reproductive Cycle:
On the leaves of plants, eggs are placed in tiny clusters of 20-30. Immediately after they lay eggs, immatures can be noticed gathered around them. Plant acids are consumed by young insects, although they are habits that lead to later stages. Up to 1000 eggs can be laid by each female. Adults have a 5- to 8-week lifetime.

SAM_5052.jpg

The spined soldier insect is a predatory stink insect that eats a number of field and garden bugs, such as the Mexican bean beetle, Colorado potato beetle, and imported cabbageworm. It's known as a 'natural adversary' of some insects since it feeds on insect pests. The spined soldier bug can be a helpful part of an agricultural system since "the enemy of my enemy is my friend."

SAM_5101.jpg

Source of Information
Source of Information
Source of Information

Camera Details:

  • Location: 96 RB, Faisalabad, Pakistan
  • Camera: Samsung NX Mini
  • Lens: 9-27mm + 17X Macro
  • Object: Spined soldier bug
  • Editing Software: Aurora HDR


▀▄▀▄▀▄ T̳̿͟͞h̳̿͟͞a̳̿͟͞n̳̿͟͞k̳̿͟͞s̳̿͟͞ ̳̿͟͞f̳̿͟͞o̳̿͟͞r̳̿͟͞ ̳̿͟͞R̳̿͟͞e̳̿͟͞a̳̿͟͞d̳̿͟͞i̳̿͟͞n̳̿͟͞g̳̿͟͞ ▄▀▄▀▄▀
🅱🅴🆂🆃 🆁🅴🅶🅰🆁🅳🆂

@faisalamin





H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency