DIY plant pots made of old furniture

I have read about the contest about creative recycling prepared by @jennyzer and I'd love to show you one metamorphosis I've made after moving to the old-new apartment.

When I moved in, I found in the apartment old furniture which couldn't be used anymore. Some parts were rotten, some broken... It was taking a lot of space and it was overwhelmingly ugly.
I asked the owner of the apartment what should I do and she replied that I can sell it or throw it away.

I was trying to sell it or donate for the first few weeks but nobody wanted it. Then I realized some desks could be still used. I decided to make plant pots of that.

IMG-20210424-WA0040.jpg

First I separated all not broken and not rotten desks. It required some work. I started to remove parts of the furniture from the top to avoid the situation when everything collapses.
A lot of banging with the hammer in my hand. Probably neighbors hated me those days 😅

PicsArt_04-24-10.37.13.jpg

Then I measured and cut the desks to make them the same size. It took me a lot of time because I was making everything manually, but I was not in hurry. Sometimes I cut one desk per day, other time two or three.
I used nails to put all the pieces together.

PicsArt_04-24-10.37.41.jpg

In the end, I managed to make four plant pots of different sizes (as you can see, I've made the floor since then as well :P ) All of them are in my windows now. I moved three to make the photos. Fourth, the biggest is too heavy when the soil is inside, so I left it where it was and made a picture.

IMG_20210424_212932.jpg

IMG_20210424_212900.jpg

IMG_20210424_212830.jpg

Basically, I didn't spend any money on plant pots. All that I invested was my time and energy.

I hope you liked that metamorphosis.
Thank you for your attention!


All photos published in this post belong to me.
@papi.mati

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency