DIY - Assembling Of A TV Stand For My Stereo System And An Old Seat For A Home Trainer

title 1.jpg

The Stereo System...

Our stereo system is very vintage and is more than three decades old but I hate giving it away although it´s taking so much space in our tiny apartment. I am still an "old school gurl" and I love my CDs and LPs, besides the stereo sound is superb. I could buy a new system that costs less than 400 Euros. That is not the point, I have a Spotify access and I could switch to it whenever I like.

We are retirees from the corporate world and when we relocated from our row house with 4 bedrooms ( too much cleaning and stairs) to a smaller two-bedroom apartment, we brought this stereo along with us, come what may. The speakers have had a small wire repair and a friend who helped us with the relocation came and fixed it. Now it´s back to its best function.

In the former house, the stereo system had been elevated to a higher shelf so that it was easier for us to use. It has a remote control and playing the CDs and LPs have been easy. But then, here in the new apartment, it is standing on the floor, we thought of making it higher so that we won´t break our back bending ( here comes the old age part! )...Lol.

IMG_20210710_154956.jpg

I researched online at furniture shops , the only one I could find was the TV stand from Ikea , thru click and collect I got it from the store which is not far from where we live. . At home, I unpacked it and checked on the parts according to the checklist, everything complete so far.

IMG_20210710_155009.jpg

The following day, I started with assembling the parts. It was fun , it´s like assembling a puzzle.

IMG_20210710_155017.jpg

IMG_20210710_155041.jpg

Except for a Phillips screwdriver, I didn´t need any other tool. Everything I need was in the pack. That is what is good with Ikea, you could become an Assembly Master and a Do-It-Yourselfer.

IMG_20210710_155154.jpg

Then, it was a relief at the same time excited when it was done. I did it without help from anyone. How proud I was!!!

IMG_20210712_163303.jpg

The stand offers a storage space underneath the table for the CDs and LPs . It is elevated now so "let the music begin!!!"

title 2.jpg

Home trainer....

Here is the 2nd DIY I did on the same day. My fitness bike needs a new seat so I dismantled the old broken saddle to see whether I could get the same online. The replacement was ordered via Amazon....but putting the old one back was a disaster because I didn´t remember how the parts were installed. I should have taken a photo first because the assembly had been so tricky. Since we couldn´t travel during the pandemic, we are using this bike daily, to exercise. Sometimes we biked outside to the national Park ...but the Spring months have been wet and cold.

Screenshot 2021-07-12 18.48.47.png

It took me more than an hour to finally figure it out how to put back the seat. Its left and right side of the assembly point has one screw and four parts. My goodness, the parts should be befitting each other but it was all confusing. My husband could not figure it either. So I played with the assembly and finally found how the parts were assembled one by one after an hour. ...Lol.

IMG_20210712_160025.jpg

The saddle or seat will be delivered tomorrow and I will be playing with the assembly again when the replacement comes, I said to my husband that I will replace the seat myself.. so wish me all the luck!

IMG_20210712_160006.jpg

IMG_20210712_160151.jpg

All images in this post are owned by @mers.

GIF by @Gremayo.gif
GIF by @gremayo

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency