My first attempt at a Christmas leprechaun // Mi primer intento de duende navideño

We are in October, the month of Halloween and most probably all crafters are thinking about what project to develop for this occasion. In my case, Halloween is going under the table. I don't know if I can make something easy for next week, I hope so!

1.jpg

As I told you in a previous post, I am trying to get a head start on the Christmas gifts I will be giving to my clients in December. Previously I knitted angels as Christmas tree ornaments.

This week it occurred to me to knit a Christmas elf. Santa's helper, so that he can have all the presents ready for children all over the earth on Christmas Eve.

2.jpg

A titanic job for these mischievous elves, who while assembling toys and wrapping presents sing Christmas songs. As a child I imagined them very small, the size of a child, with colorful clothes, especially green and red.

When I would go to bed I would try not to fall asleep to find Santa Claus placing the presents under the Christmas tree, but I could never wait up for him.

3.jpg

Over the years, while still a child, I discovered that my Santa Claus was the woman I called Mom for a long time. I don't know how she managed in such a small house to hide presents for 4 children! Hahaha especially if we consider that a child is curious by nature.

Let's go back to the elf. I decided to make an elf that is coming out of a bag. It is an unusual elf but I thought it was an ideal detail to place on the Christmas tree.

4.jpg

Materials. To make it I used green, red and white thread. Anti-allergic stuffing and crochet hook N° 2.

I knitted the bag in green color with half stitches, knitted in a wrapping way until reaching the desired size. I changed to white to give shape to the body and when I considered that the size was adequate I reduced the stitches, filled and closed.

5.jpg

I made the cap in red with a green border. I started from the tip and increased it progressively. When I finished it I attached it to the head with needle and nylon thread.

For the eyes I first sewed two beads in blue. After seeing it finished, I didn't like it so I embroidered in black thread around the beads. I'm still not really sure how it turned out.

6.jpg

I embroidered the nose with white thread and after I finished I wonder if it was better to embroider it in pink or red.

Once finished I noticed that the elf was pale, what a horror!!!, so I got a brush and makeup, and painted his cheeks, a little better, but I'm not satisfied.

7.jpg

From your point of view, what does the elf need, I'm thinking how to improve it and I can't find a way out, will it be golden color, yellow, a woven detail on the bag?

If you made it this far thank you very much for reading me, I really appreciate it!

The creative work is my own // All photos are my own taken with my Tecno Spark cell phone and edited with Canva.Com // I used the free version of Deepl.com as a translator.

2.jpg



AHORA EN ESPAÑOL

Estamos en Octubre, mes de Halloween y muy probablemente todas las artesanas están pensado que proyecto desarrollar para esta ocasión. En mi caso, Halloween va a pasar por debajo de la mesa. No sé si pueda hacer algo fácil para la próxima semana, espero que sí!

1.jpg

Como les conté en un post anterior, estoy tratando de adelantar los detalles navideños que regalaré a mis clientes en diciembre. Previamente tejí ángeles como adorno para el árbol de navidad.

Esta semana se me ocurrió tejer un duende navideño. El ayudante de Santa Claus, para que él pueda tener todos los regalos listos para los niños de toda la tierra la noche de navidad.

2.jpg

Un titánico trabajo el de estos traviesos duendes, que mientras armar juguetes y envuelven regalos cantan canciones navideñas. De niña los imaginaba muy pequeños, del tamaño de un niño, con ropas coloridas, sobre todo el verde y el rojo.

Cuando me iba a la cama trataba de no quedarme dormida para descubrir a Santa Claus colocando los regalos debajo del arbolito de navidad, pero nunca podía esperarlo despierta.

3.jpg

Con los años, siendo todavía una niña, descubrí que mi Santa Claus, fue la mujer a la que llamé mamá durante mucho tiempo. No sé cómo se las ingeniaba en una casa tan pequeña, para esconder regalos para 4 niños! Jajaja sobre todo si consideramos que un niño es curioso por naturaleza.

Volvamos al duende. Decidí hacer un duende que está saliendo de una bolsa. Es un duende poco común pero me pareció un detalle ideal para colocar en el arbolito de navidad.

4.jpg

Materiales. Para su fabricación utilice hilo verde, rojo y blanco. Relleno antialérgico y aguja de ganchillo N° 2.

La bolsa la tejí en color verde con medio puntos, tejidos de forma envolvente hasta alcanzar el tamaño deseado. Cambié al color blanco para dar forma al cuerpo y cuando consideré que el tamaño era adecuado reduje los puntos, rellené y cerré.

5.jpg

La Gorra la hice en color rojo con el borde verde. Comencé desde la punta y fue aumentando progresivamente. Cuando la terminé la uní a la cabeza con aguja e hilo de nylon.

Para los ojos primero cosí dos cuentas en color azul. Luego de verlo terminado, no me gustó así que bordé en hilo negro alrededor de las cuentas. La verdad todavía no me convence como quedó.

6.jpg

Bordé la nariz con hilo blanco y luego de terminado me pregunto si fue mejor bordarlo en color rosado o rojo.

Una vez terminado noté que el duende estaba pálido, Que horror!!!, así que busque una brocha y maquillaje, y le pinté las mejillas, un poco mejor, pero no me siento satisfecha.

7.jpg

Desde tu punto de vista, que le hace falta al duende?, estoy pensando cómo mejorarlo y no encuentro salida, será color dorado, amarillo, un detalle tejido en la bolsa?

Si llegaste hasta aquí muchas gracias por leerme, realmente lo aprecio!

El trabajo creativo es propio // Todas las fotos son propias tomadas con mi celular Tecno Spark y editadas con Canva.Com // Utilicé la versión gratuita de Deepl.com como traductor.

2.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency